Saturday , September 19 2020
Home / Indian Football / General / 71st Santosh Trophy: Goa & Bengal start off with wins!

71st Santosh Trophy: Goa & Bengal start off with wins!

Hosts Goa and 31-times champions West Bengal were off to winning starts on the opening day of the 71st National Football Championship for the Santosh Trophy in Goa. While Goa beat Meghalaya 2-1, West Bengal scraped past Chandigarh by a solitary goal.

At the JMC Bambolim Stadium, after a barren first half, U-21 Player Latesh Latesh Mandrekar put Goa in the lead in the 50th minute. Hardly had the celebrations died down, talented teenager Liston Colaco doubled the score in the 52nd minute.

Stung after conceding two goals in two minutes, Meghalaya tried to regroup and pulled one back almost immediately when U-21 Player Enestar Malngiang scored in the 55th minute, but the score remained the same until the end.

In the other match, Bengal rode on a 90th minute strike from Sheikh Faiaz at the Navelim ground to defeat Chandigarh.

by AIFF Media

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

FanCode becomes the exclusive fan destination for Bundesliga in India!

DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga has partnered with FanCode, India’s first multi-sport aggregator platform by Dream …