Monday , May 28 2018
Home / Indian Football / I-League / East Bengal win at leaders Minerva Punjab FC to open up I-League title race!

East Bengal win at leaders Minerva Punjab FC to open up I-League title race!

Kolkata giants East Bengal Club scored a massive 1-0 win at I-League leaders Minerva Punjab FC to keep their title chances alive at the Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula on Tuesday afternoon.

Minerva Punjab FC stay top with 29 points from 14 matches with NEROCA FC second with 28 points from 15 matches while East Bengal are third with 26 points from 14 matches to open up the title race.

The red and gold were the better of the two sides knowing that only a win would keep them in the title race and they had the better chances in the match, but they only scored the winner on the hour mark through a brilliant long-ranger from midfielder Cavin Lobo.

That was enough for East Bengal to win the game, take home the three points and keep the title race alive.


Minerva Punjab FC 0-1 East Bengal Club

Goals: 0-1 Cavin Lobo (60′)

Minerva Punjab FC: Rakshit Dagar (60′ Kiran Kumar Limbu) – Sukhdev Singh, Kamalpreet Singh, Eric Dano ,Amandeep Singh, Bazie Armand (57′ Abhishek Ambekar) Kassim Aidara, William Opoku, Souvik Das (89′ Girish Mahesh Khosla), Bali Gagandeep, Chencho Gyeltshen

East Bengal Club: K.C. Ubaid – Lalramchullova, Arnab Kumar Mondal, Eduardo Fereirra, Salam Ranjan Singh – Cavin Lobo (76′ Mohammed Rafique), Yami Longwah (35′ Ansumana Kromah) Mahmoud Al Amna, Katsumi Yusa, Laldanmawia Ralte – MacPherlin Dudu Omagbemi

Referee: Ajit Meitei

Hero of the Match: Mahmoud Al Amna (East Bengal)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

I-League: NEROCA sign talented winger Sushil Meitei!

I-League runners-up NEROCA FC have announced the signing of talented winger Ahongshangbam Sushil Meitei from …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.