Thursday , July 9 2020
Home / Indian Football / 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup: Team India to play Group League Matches in New Delhi!

2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup: Team India to play Group League Matches in New Delhi!

Following a request from the All India Football Federation to hold the group matches of the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India, in which India are playing in New Delhi, and the fruitful discussions between the Local Organising Committee (LOC) and the local government, FIFA has agreed to amend the match schedule as follows:

Group A, featuring the home team, which is automatically seeded as A1, will be based in New Delhi and teams of Group B will be based in Navi Mumbai. Matches for the knockout stage remain as planned before.

Acknowledging the increased efforts of the local authorities and the LOC in connection with the requested amendment, FIFA’s Head of Tournaments Jaime Yarza said: “Attendance, especially in the venue where the home team plays its matches, is one of the priorities of the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017, crucial to achieving the purpose of better positioning football in the country, so the government’s commitment in this regard is highly appreciated. The presence of the Secretary of Sports at the meetings concerning the state of the works in the stadium and training sites sends a positive message and reflects the strong involvement of the authorities. “We expect this involvement to extend into the area of pollution prevention, which has been an important topic discussed in relation to the tournament, in particular in Delhi. We are now expecting an action response plan to prevent pollution levels from affecting the tournament, which ideally should continue beyond the tournament.”

In less than ten days – on Friday, July 7, 2017 at 7pm local time – the draw for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India will take place at the Hotel Sahara Star, Mumbai.

Besides India, who are automatically qualified as hosts, the following teams have booked their tickets to the competition: Iran, Iraq, Japan, Korea DPR (AFC); New Caledonia, New Zealand (OFC); Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay (CONMEBOL); Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA (CONCACAF); England, France, Germany, Spain, Turkey (UEFA); Mali, Niger, Ghana, and Guinea (CAF).

About Press Release

Check Also

Ranjit Bajaj offers AIFF, Minerva facilities for conducting Coaching courses & India Junior camps!

On July 3, 2020, Minerva Academy FC owner Ranjit Bajaj wrote two letters to the …