Thursday , October 17 2019
Home / International Football / Americas / Four venues appointed for historic 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Brazil!

Four venues appointed for historic 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Brazil!

The Estádio Bezerrão in Brasília (Gama) will make football history on October 26 when it hosts the opening match of the FIFA U-17 World Cup, the first-ever edition of this prestigious tournament to be staged in Brazil. The competition has previously served as a springboard for an array of world stars, such as Gianluigi Buffon, Francesco Totti, Ronaldinho, Xavi, Toni Kroos and Neymar.

The other tournament venues will be Goiânia’s Estádio Olímpico and Estádio da Serrinha, as well as the Estádio Kléber Andrade in Vitória (Cariacica), in line with FIFA and the LOC’s commitment to bringing the excitement of the FIFA U-17 World Cup to local communities that have never before hosted a FIFA event.

The successors to current FIFA U-17 World Cup champions England will be decided on November 17, also at the Estádio Bezerrão. Hosts Brazil, who are three-time winners of the tournament, will be preassigned to position A1 in the draw and will therefore feature in the opening match.

Brazil had stepped in to host the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup after FIFA had found Peru unfit to host the tournament.

“With their great passion for football and vast experience of organising world-class sporting events, I am convinced that Brazil and the Brazilian Football Association (CBF) will be fantastic hosts of this year’s FIFA U-17 World Cup. I believe that the four selected stadiums offer the right size and facilities for this competition, and we are very excited to bring this thrilling tournament to venues that have never hosted a FIFA event before. Thanks to the excellent cooperation and contribution of the CBF and Local Organising Committee, I am sure that we will be able to provide all teams, fans and officials with the best possible conditions,” said FIFA Chief Tournaments & Events Officer Colin Smith.

The previous edition of the FIFA U-17 World Cup, which was hosted by India in 2017, was a huge success and featured a number of players who have made headlines since, including England’s Jadon Sancho and Phil Foden, Germany’s Jann-Fiete Arp and Mexico’s Diego Lainez.


Group A: Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, Angola

Group B: Nigeria, Hungary, Ecuador, Australia

Group C: South Korea, Haiti, France, Chile

Group D: United States of America, Senegal, Japan, Netherlands

Group E: Spain, Argentina, Tajikistan, Cameroon

Group F: Solomon Islands, Italy, Paraguay, Mexico

About Press Release

Check Also

Uganda FA’s Moses Hassim Magogo suspended for two months!

The chairman of the adjudicatory chamber of the independent Ethics Committee has ratified the plea …