Thursday , June 4 2020
Home / Indian Football / General / Greater Guwahati Baby League Season 2 concludes!

Greater Guwahati Baby League Season 2 concludes!

The second season of Assam’s first ever Golden Baby Football League, the ‘Greater Guwahati Baby League’ (GGBL) concluded on Sunday, March 1 after four months of action with more than 500 kids from more than 50 teams playing every Sunday for four titles at the Nehru Stadium, Guwahati.

Exhibition matches and prize distribution ceremony were held on this occasion. The closing ceremony of the league which is recognized by All India Football Federation and organized by Guwahati City FC (GCFC) and Sportscraft Management, was graced by Assam Football Association secretary Hemendra Nath Brahma, Guwahati Sports Association general secretary Dhrubajyoti Kalita, Marketing Executive of WAMUL (Purabi Dairy) Husna Bora, Football Leader of Decathlon Guwahati Rahul Pawar were also present.

41 players were presented ‘Stars of Baby League’ medal for outstanding performances and 10 coaches were awarded with ‘Emerging Coaches’ trophy.

In the Under-6 category, tie between Sagnik Lahiri and Adoni Sumer, Siddhant Sharma and Aradhya Borpatra Gohain, in the U-8 category Vivek Dey, L Shidal Singh and Uzziel Iangrai, in U-10 category Sumit Pandey, Sandip Singh and Sanzid Khan Choudhury, in the U-12 category Laksh Biswas, Manjyoti Tamuli and Ajibar Ali got top three goal scorers trophies for their respective categories.

In the U-6 category Montfort Tigers, in U-8 and U-10 categories GCFC Unicorns and in U-12 category Khanapara Pegasus lifted the Champions trophy.

Aradhya Borpatra Gohain of Manomay Deers received best emerging player in U-6 category while Uzziel Iangrai of GCFC Unicorns was awarded with Most Valuable Player (MVP) trophy with 27 goals and 25 assists in 24 matches. Dibyapratim Basumatary got the MVP Award with 15 goals and 10 assists in 20 matches in the U-10 category. In the U-12 category, Khanapara Pegasus defender Daniel Daimari received the MVP awards with rock solid defense. On the other hand, Pritam Brahma from GCFC Unicorns who played deciding role in the U-10 triumph with 18 goals and 12 assists in 20 matches received best player of the league.

There was also a U-15 Skilled Football Competition held by Purabi Dairy where more than 100 player participated in two groups U-6 – U-9 and U-10 – U-15. Uzzeil Iangrai and Rudereswar Thapa won in their respected categories.

Champion | Runners-Up

U-6: Montfort Tigers | Narengi Dolphins & GTC Rhinos

U-8: GCFC Unicorns | Narengi Dolphins

U-10: GCFC Unicorns | Khanapara Pegasus

U-12: Khanapara Pegasus | Manomay Deers

About Press Release

Check Also

Golden Baby Leagues promotes touches & interactions among kids!

Catch ’em, Young! The Golden Baby Leagues introduced by AIFF aims to popularise the sport …