Sunday , June 7 2020
Home / International Football / Asia / Heung-min Son wins 2019 Best Footballer in Asia!

Heung-min Son wins 2019 Best Footballer in Asia!

South Korea and Tottenham Hotspur Heung-min Son has once more been voted 2019 Best Footballer in Asia, the fifth time in the last six years.

Son polled a total of 258 points to claim 31.6 percent of the total on offer and finish well clear of runner-up Qatar’s Akram Afif (114 points) and third-placed Japan’s Takumi Minamino (90 points).

Heung-min Son had a great season for Tottenham Hotspur as his club reached the 2018/19 UEFA Champions League final with Son a key element as club captain Harry Kane spend quite some time on the sidelines.

The Best Footballer in Asia – presented by China’s Titan Sports – was introduced in 2013 as Asian football’s answer to the famed Ballon d’Or award, and is similarly voted for by various journalists and experts across the continent. Amongst the people is myself, Arunava Chaudhuri.

Each judge votes for his or her five best players with each receiving six, four, three, two and one points respectively, meaning the maximum on offer in 2019 was 306.

Judges representing AFC (Asia) members (37)

Australia: Simon Hill – Football commentator of FOX Sports Australia
Cambodia: Ung Chamroeun – Editor-in-Chief of ThmeyThmey
Indonesia: Weshley Hutagalung – Editor of
Malaysia: Ugarajan Krishnan – Reporter of The Star
Myanmar: Sithu Aung Myo Kyaw – Reporter of Myanmar Times
Philippines: Cedelf Tupas – Sportswriter for Philippines Daily Inquirer
Singapore: Rhysh Roshan Rai – Football commentator and pundit
Thailand: Urai Patthamawattana – Senior editor of Siam Sport
Vietnam: Truong Anh Ngoc – Vietnamese football writer and commentator
China: Ma Dexing – Deputy editor of Titan Sports
Chinese Taipei: Robert Lee – Reporter of China Times
Hong Kong: Matthew Li – Reporter of Ta Kung Pao, football expert
Japan: Shuichi Tamura – Senior reporter of Number Sports Graphic
Korea Republic: Kim Hyun-ki – Senior editor of Sports Seoul
Macau: Zhang Zhiming – Reporter of Macao Daily News
Afghanistan: Khoshhal Taib – BBC Pashto journalist, Vice President of Afghanistan Sports Journalists Federation
Iran: Pejman Rahbar – Editor-in-Chief of
Kyrgyzstan: Bakyt Shukuraliev – Reporter of AKIpress
Tajikistan: Aloviddin Buriev – Chief editor of TV Varzish Sports
Turkmenistan: Alexander Vershinin – Correspondent of the State News Agency of Turkmenistan
Uzbekistan: Davron Fayziev – Football commentator and writer
Bahrain: Fawaz Al Abdulla – Bahrain Sports TV commentator
Iraq: Hassanin Mubarak – Iraqi football expert
Jordan: Waheed Al Masri – Reporter of Middle East Broadcasting Center
Lebanon: Charbel Krayem – Chief editor of
Kuwait: Marzooq Al Ajmi – Kuwait football writer and expert
Oman: Jaber Al Ajmi – Correspondent of Oman Daily Observer
Palestine: Mohamad Iraqi – Reporter of Al-ayyam
Qatar: Majed Al Khelaifi – Chief editor of Doha Stadium
Saudi Arabia: Bataal Algoos – head of sport department of Al Arabiya TV
United Arab Emirates: Ali Khaled – UAE football writer and expert
Yemen: Basheer Senan – Senior editor of Al Riadi Net
Bangladesh: Sanat Babla – Reporter of Kaler Kantho
India: Arunava Chaudhuri – Indian football expert and founder of
Maldives: Azzam Ali Fulhu – Senior reporter of Mihaaru News
Pakistan: Natasha Raheel – Correspondent of The Express Tribune

Special guest judges as Asian football experts (14)

John Duerden – Football writer of AP, Guardian,, FourFourTwo
Xavier Barret – Editor of FranceFootball
Michael Ashelm – Reporter of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
Martin Gruener – International football reporter of Kicker
Fabio Licari – Reporter of La Gazzetta dello Sport
Tariq Panja – Reporter of The New York Times
Gabriel Tan – Football editor of FOX Sports Asia
Jonathan White – Reporter of South China Morning Post
Pedro Santos – Editor of Jornal Ponto Final
Michael Church – Reporter of Reuters
Talek Harris – Sports editor of AFP
Wael Jabir – Founder and CEO of Ahdaaf Agency
Omar Al Raisi – Chief editor of TSJSports


Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an


5 ?? in 6 years… CONGRATULATIONS to @spursofficial star @hm_son7 for being voted the Best Footballer in Asia 2019! #BFA #BFA2019

Ein Beitrag geteilt von FOX Sports Asia (@foxsportsasia) am

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

AFC announce revised schedule for India’s 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers!

The Asian Football Confederation has intimated the All India Football Federation about the new match …