Thursday , December 12 2019
Home / Indian Football / General / Mizoram Premier League Season 8 to kickoff today!

Mizoram Premier League Season 8 to kickoff today!

The new season of the top flight football league in the state, the Mizoram Premier League will kickoff this September 5 evening at the Lammual in Aizawl.

The kickoff programme will start from 6:30pm with India international and top Mizo football star Jeje Lalpekhlua kicking off the new season.
An entertaining programme is also lined up that will include Grassroots Football Drill, Traditional & Contemporary Dances as well as performances by the top performers in the state.

There will also be an introduction of all the player’s from the league along with the display of new jerseys from each team.

The league will be contested by eight teams – current champions and three time winners Aizawl FC, two time champions Chanmari FC, 2017 treble season winners Chhinga Veng FC, Mizoram Police, Electric Veng FC, Ramhlun North FC, FC Venghnuai and Chawnpui FC. Each team will face each other twice in the league with the top four earning a spot in the semi-finals. The last four will be a two-legged tie while the final will be a one-off battle.

Broadcasting partners Zonet TV will provide TV coverage and for the first time ever in the state, Sony Pictures Networks will stream select matches on its OTT platform – Sony LIV.

MPL matches will now be available to a broader audience through internet streaming, as fans from all over can easily catch live matches on their hand held devices though Sony Liv.

The Mizoram Premier League has previously served as a platform for a number of Mizo footballers currently plying their trade in the top leagues in Indian football. This year will be the 8th edition of one of the most popular state leagues in the nation.

About Press Release

Check Also

Sunil Chhetri switches brands, signs for PUMA!

German sports major PUMA today announced that India and Bengaluru FC captain Sunil Chhetri has …