Tuesday , September 18 2018
Home / Indian Football / I-League / Mohun Bagan beat Calcutta Customs, lift CFL trophy after eight years!

Mohun Bagan beat Calcutta Customs, lift CFL trophy after eight years!

City giants Mohun Bagan defeated Calcutta Customs 2-0 at their Mohun Bagan ground on Wednesday evening to lift the Calcutta Football League – Premier Division ‘A’ crown for the first-time in eight years.

Ugandan striker Henry Kisekka struck twice in the 4th and 45th minutes to edge out a memorable win as Mohun Bagan with 26 points after 10 matches are way ahead of their archrivals East Bengal, who had won the CFL title in the last eight seasons, to lift their 30th Calcutta Football League crown.

It was a full house on the Kolkata Maidans and the Mariners did not disappoint as Henry Kisekka beautifully chest-trapped Arijit Bagui’s long ball from the right flank to give Mohun Bagan the early lead.

After missing numerous chances, Kisekka scored the second on the night as he controlled the ball just outside the six-yard box before slotting it past Custom keeper Suvam Sen.

Nothing much happened in the second half as it was party time after the final whistle for Mohun Bagan AC.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

XtraTime VIDEO: New CFL champions Mohun Bagan face Mohammedan Sporting in final game!

As XtraTime reports from Kolkata, new Calcutta Football League – Premier Division ‘A’ champions Mohun …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.