Friday , February 23 2018
Home / German Football / Bundesliga / Retired Philipp Lahm named German Footballer of the Year!

Retired Philipp Lahm named German Footballer of the Year!

Recently retired Bayern Munich great and former Germany captain Philipp Lahm has been voted German Footballer of the Year for 2016/17, winning the award – as voted for by 855 members of the German Sports Journalism Association (VDS) – ahead of Real Madrid midfielder Toni Kroos and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

After winning the UEFA Champions League, after eight German Bundesliga championships and six German DFB Cup trophies with FC Bayern Munich, the sports journalists appreciated the life of the captain of the 2014 FIFA World Cup winer.

Philipp Lahm told Kicker magazine, “I think the German sports journalists have probably seen my whole career in this election.”

Amongst other votes, Philipp Lahm got my vote this year as well! Congrats Philipp!!!

Germany women’s national team captain Dzsenifer Marozsan won the award amongst the women, while 1899 Hoffenheim head coach Julian Nagelsmann was voted as coach of the year.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Bundesliga: Martin Schmidt resigns as VfL Wolfsburg head coach!

In a surprise move Martin Schmidt has stepped down as head coach of German Bundesliga …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *