Thursday , November 15 2018
Home / International Football / Asia / Successful AFC Annual Awards night held in Bangkok!

Successful AFC Annual Awards night held in Bangkok!

Omar Khrbin and Samantha Kerr have been named as the top players in Asia at the glittering AFC Annual Awards held in Bangkok tonight, November 29.

After a historic 2017 which saw five AFC teams qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, the Asian Football Confederation celebrated the best of the Continent’s football in a grand ceremony hosted by the FA of Thailand.

AFC President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa said, “We are grateful to FA Thailand for providing such a fantastic setting here at Aksra Theatre for the highlight of the Asian football calendar, the AFC Annual Awards.”

“Tonight, united under the banner of One Asia, One Goal, we are celebrating another year of Asian football development, in technical terms, in refereeing, in social responsibility. Women and men, boys and girls have made Asia proud through their dedication to football again this year, across the Continent.”

“Our Member Associations reflect Asia’s diversity and tonight’s winners have truly deserved their awards, crossing all obstacles as they have become role models for others to follow. We applaud the coaches and the players who have impressed and excited us this year. They have all played a part in making Asian football greater than ever before.”

AFC Women’s Player of the Year 2017 Kerr enjoyed a year to remember with both American National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) outfit Sky Blue FC and Australia. Named the NWSL’s Most Valuable Player after scoring 17 times for her club team, Kerr also scored four goals to help the Matildas overcome Brazil, the United States and Japan to claim the 2017 Tournament of Nations title.

AFC Women’s Player of the Year 2017 Kerr said, “Thank you to the AFC for this wonderful night. I would like to thank my support staff and my team, this would not have been possible without them.”

AFC Player of the Year 2017 Khrbin has performed heroics for both Syria and Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal this year. Syria only exited the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Asian Qualifiers following a play-off defeat to Australia, while Khrbin’s 10 goals – including a hattrick against Persepolis in the semifinals – helped Al Hilal reach the AFC Champions League final.

AFC Player of the Year 2017 Khrbin said, “This award is for the support of my teammates in Syria and Al Hilal, we promise to our fans to keep trying our best.”

The winners of the AFC Annual Awards 2017 are:

AFC Diamond of Asia: Yousuf Al Serkal (UAE)
AFC Dream Asia Award: Japan Football Association

AFC Member Association of the Year
Inspiring: Football Federation Islamic Republic of Iran
Developing: Vietnam Football Federation
Aspiring: Afghanistan Football Federation

AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots Football
Inspiring Member Association: Chinese Football Association
Developing Member Association: Football Association of Singapore
Aspiring Member Association: Bhutan Football Federation

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Aliasghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

AFC Coach of the Year
Women: Asako Takakura (JPN)
Men: Takafumi Hori (JPN)

AFC Women’s Player of the Year: Samantha Kerr (AUS)

AFC Player of the Year: Omar Khrbin (SYR)

Awards not presented in Bangkok:
AFC Referees Special Award: Bakhtiyor Namazov (UZB)

AFC Youth Player of the Year
Women: Sung Hyang-sim (PRK)
Men: Lee Seung-woo (KOR)

AFC Asian International Player of the Year: Son Heung-min (KOR)

About Press Release

Check Also

AFC Grassroots Conference charts new boundaries!

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) underlined the importance in developing grassroots football in Asia as …