Wednesday , November 29 2023

World Cup winners Germany name their preliminary Euro 2016 squad!

DFB logoGermany coach Joachim Löw has called up 14 members of his 2014 FIFA World Cup winning team to the Germany squad ahead of the 2016 European Championship in France.

At a press conference at the French embassy at the Pariser Platz in Berlin, the German head coach announced his preliminary squad for the tournament which will be held from June 10 to July 10. Among those selected are Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng, Benedikt Höwedes, Mats Hummels, Shkodran Mustafi, Julian Draxler, Mario Götze, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Thomas Müller, Mesut Özil, Lukas Podolski, André Schürrle and captain Bastian Schweinsteiger.

13 members of the current squad were involved in EURO 2012 in Poland and Ukraine. Julian Brandt, Joshua Kimmich and Julian Weigl all make the squad for the very first-time. As well as World Goalkeeper of the Year Manuel Neuer, Bernd Leno and Marc-André ter Stegen have been called up to the squad.

On the composition of the squad, Löw said, “We have busied ourselves intensively in the past few months and weeks monitoring the players. Each individual has earned our respect, the same goes for those who we could not include. We have chosen these players because we are convinced that we have a good mixture of experience and youthful exuberance. Overall we have a squad filled with lots of quality, flexibility and versatility. These are good conditions for a successful EURO campaign.”

The national team begin their training camp in Ascona on May 24, as they start preparations for the European Championship. Only Toni Kroos and Lukas Podolski will be missing early on: Kroos has the UEFA Champions League final on May 28 in Milan and Podolski has the Turkish Cup final with Galatasaray on May 26. Both players will join the squad as soon as their club duties are over.

As part of the training camp, Die Mannschaft face Slovakia on May 29 (17:45h) in Augsburg, two days before Löw is required to submit his final 23-man squad to UEFA May 31. The training camp ends on June 4 (18:00h) against Hungary in Gelsenkirchen.

After that the player return home for two days to be with their families, before the squad travels to Evian on June 7, where the national team will be based throughout the tournament.

The tournament starts on June 10 (21:00h) with the opening match between hosts France and Romania. Germany are in action against Ukraine on June 12 (21:00h) in Lille, before they face neighbours Poland on June 16 (21:00h) at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis. The final group game takes place on June 21 (18:00h) at the Park de Prince in Paris.


Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen)

Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern), Jonas Hector (1. FC Köln), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Höwedes (Schalke 04), Shkodran Mustafi (FC Valencia), Emre Can (FC Liverpool), Sebastian Rudy (1899 Hoffenheim), Antonio Rüdiger (AS Rom)

Sami Khedira (Juventus Turin), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Mesut Özil (FC Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray Istanbul), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern), Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), Mario Gomez (Besiktas Istanbul), Mario Götze (FC Bayern), Leroy Sané (Schalke 04), André Schürrle (VfL Wolfsburg)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Venue changed for UEFA Europa League tie, Maccabi Haifa vs Stade Rennais!

Due to stadium unavailability, the previously announced venue for the upcoming UEFA Europa League group …