Sunday , February 25 2024

2022/23 DFB German Cup: Round 1 draw throws-up exciting encounters!

The draw for the first round of the DFB German Cup (DFB Pokal) 2022/23 was held tonight with the draw carried out by 2014 FIFA World Cup winner Kevin Großkreutz with DFB vice-president Peter Frymuth, who was standing in for DFB president Bernd Neuendorf who couldn’t attend due to illness, overlooking the draw.

Record winners FC Bayern Munich will take on fifth-tier Oberliga side Bremer SV, while holders Borussia Dortmund will start their title defence against SV Wehen Wiesbaden from the 3.Liga.

Four teams from the Oberliga (fifth tier) have made the competition this year, including the aforementioned Bremer SV. The other three sides all got attractive opponents too: Greifswalder FC will play FC Augsburg, FC 08 Villingen will host FC Schalke 04 and VfL Oldenburg were drawn against Fortuna Düsseldorf.

VfB Stuttgart do not yet know their opponent. They were drawn against the winner of the Berlin Cup, which was BFC Dynamo. However, another side from Berlin have appealed their participation to the DFB, so it is not yet known which team VfB will face.

The first-round matches will take place between September 6 to 8, and will mark the start of the 2021/22 season in German professional football.

The second round is then scheduled for October 26/27, and the round of 16 on January 18/19.

The quarterfinal ties are to be played on March 1/2, before the two semifinals on April 19/20. The final at the Olympiastadion in Berlin, set for Saturday, May 21, will be a week after Germany’s professional leagues conclude.

2022/23 DFB POKAL – Round 1

Jahn Regensburg – 1. FC Köln
FV Engers 07 – Arminia Bielefeld
VfB Lübeck – Hansa Rostock
1. FC Kaan-Marienborn – 1. FC Nürnberg

Schott Mainz – Hannover 96
TSG Neustrelitz – Karlsruher SC
Teutonia 05 Ottensen – RB Leipzig
Dynamo Dresden – VfB Stuttgart

Viktoria Berlin – VfL Bochum
Chemnitzer FC – Union Berlin
SV 07 Elversberg – Bayer 04 Leverkusen
BSV Rehden – SV Sandhausen

FC Einheit Wernigerode – SC Paderborn 07
SV Rödinghausen – TSG Hoffenheim
FV Illertissen – 1. FC Heidenheim
Kickers Offenbach – Fortuna Düsselsdorf

Eintracht Braunschweig – Hertha BSC
TSV 1860 München – Borussia Dortmund
1. FC Kaiserslautern – SC Freiburg
SV Oberachern – Borussia Mönchengladbach

FC Ingolstadt – SV Darmstadt 98
Waldhof Mannheim – Holstein Kiel
TuS BW Lohne – FC Augsburg
SV Straelen – FC St. Pauli

SpVgg Bayreuth – Hamburger SV
Erzgebirge Aue – 1. FSV Mainz 05
Energie Cottbus – Werder Bremen
Bremer SV – FC Schalke 04

FC Carl Zeiss Jena – VfL Wolfsburg
Stuttgarter Kickers – Greuther Fürth
Viktoria Köln – FC Bayern München
1. FC Magdeburg – Eintracht Frankfurt

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Bundesliga Dream China gets underway in Mönchengladbach!

In coordination with the Chinese Football Association (CFA), 20 members of the China U-16 men’s …