Thursday , May 23 2019
Home / Indian Football / General / Goa Police Cup to feature 12 teams from August 7 onwards!

Goa Police Cup to feature 12 teams from August 7 onwards!

Goa Football AssociationThe 14th Goa Police Cup will be held from August 7 onwards with 12 teams in four venues (Duler, Raia, Cuncolim, Ambelim) across Goa in a league cum knockout format with the AIFF still to give its okay for Indian Navy as an outstation team to play in the tournament.

The tournament, sponsored by Axis Bank, is being organised by the Goa Police Sports Cell in association with Vasco SC and the Goa Football Association.

Goa Police SP (Crime) Karthik Kashyap said, “The 14th edition of the all-Goa tournament, for a change, will have an outstation team, Indian Navy, playing alongside 11 Goan clubs. Matches will be played at four venues, including Duler Stadium in Mapusa.”

The 12 teams – Salgaocar FC, Dempo SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Vasco SC, Sesa Football Academy, Calangute Association, Santa Cruz Club of Cavelossim, Bardez FC, Corps of Signals, Indian Navy and hosts Goa Police SC – have been divided into four groups of three teams each.

The winner of each group qualifies for the semifinals scheduled for August 14 and 16. The winners of Group A will face winner of Group D and Group B topper will meet Group C winners for a place in the finals on August 19 with the champions set to receive Rs 2 lakh and the losing finalists would be richer by Rs 1 lakh, while the best player of the tournament would receive Rs 10,000.

On the opening day, Sporting Clube will meet Calangute Association at Duler Stadium, while Salgaocar face Santa Cruz Club of Cavelossim in Ambelim ground.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Sethu FC crowned new Indian Women’s League champions!

Sethu FC turned around a first-half deficit to beat Manipur Police SC 3-1 and win …