Tuesday , May 17 2022

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Bid Evaluation Report published!

Following a detailed assessment of the bid books and visits to the bidding countries, today FIFA confirmed that three bids will be submitted to the FIFA Council in order for it to select the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup host(s) at its meeting to be held online on June 25, 2020. The three qualifying bids are:

  • joint submission by Football Federation Australia and New Zealand Football;
  • submission by the Colombian Football Association;
  • submission by the Japan Football Association.

The Brazilian Football Association informed FIFA on Monday, June 8, of its decision to withdraw its bid.

The evaluation report is now available here.

“One year after the record-breaking eighth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup in France, the FIFA Council will decide on the host(s) for the ninth edition of the tournament in 2023, which we hope will be even bigger and better. The quality of the bids is testimony to the tremendous momentum women’s football has generated and we are looking forward to building on this to take women’s football to the next level at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023,” said FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura.

FIFA has developed a robust evaluation model for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 bidding process that comprises the following key components:

  • a technical evaluation: an assessment of the main infrastructure and commercial criteria, applying an evaluation system established by FIFA;
  • a risk assessment: an assessment of the risks associated with certain criteria, including but not limited to human rights and sustainability, applying a specific rating;
  • a description: a summary of relevant information provided in the bid, such as the hosting vision and strategy, highlighting potential issues (without a technical evaluation or risk assessment).

The methodology and application of the scoring system used for the technical evaluation are specified in the Overview of the scoring system for the technical evaluation of bids.

The most competitive bidding process in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will see the appointment of the host(s) of the 2023 showpiece following an open voting procedure by the FIFA Council, in which the result of each ballot and the related votes by the Council members will be made public on FIFA.com.

Following on from the astounding success of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France and the subsequent unanimous decision by the FIFA Council, the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the first edition to feature 32 teams.

A full overview of the bidding process is available in the Guide to the Bidding Process for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

About Press Release

Check Also

Thailand to host 2022 AFC Cup – Group J!

Following the withdrawal of Chinese Taipei as host of the AFC Cup 2022 Group J …