Saturday , September 18 2021

42 of 64 teams confirmed for 2021/22 German DFB Pokal!

All 36 clubs in the Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 from the past season automatically qualify for the DFB-Pokal for next season. The same applies to the top four clubs of the 3.Liga, bringing the total to 40 teams who qualify automatically. Alongside these clubs, all amateur clubs in Germany have the chance to reach the first round of the DFB-Pokal every year.

The ongoing coronavirus pandemic has put a spanner in the works for many lower-ranked clubs this year. Nevertheless, the 21 state associations will be represented in the DFB-Pokal by their cup winners for the coming season. Here, provides an overview of the teams that have qualified so far for the 2021/22 DFB-Pokal ahead of the final day of the amateur season on Saturday, May 29.

Top four teams in 3.Liga qualify automatically

In addition to all 36 clubs from the Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 from the 2020/2021 season, the current champions of the 3.Liga, Dynamo Dresden, as well as the three other best-placed sides in the third tier qualify for next season’s DFB-Pokal. This season, that is FC Hansa Rostock, FC Ingolstadt 04 and TSV 1860 München.

Through cup competitions in the 21 state associations of the DFB, even a district league team can make it to the first round of the Pokal in theory. In order to reach this point, the team must be successful in the district cup, after which lower-ranked teams can qualify for their respective state cup, the winner of which then gains entry to the first round of the DFB-Pokal.

13 state cup finals or deciding matches for participation in the DFB-Pokal will be played on the final day of the amateur season this year. The other state associations will determine their participants for the DFB-Pokal at a later date due to the effects of the pandemic. The DFB’s registration deadline is 1st July.

Münster and Lotte already qualified

In addition to the 21 state cup winners, three other teams complete final total of 64 clubs which participate in the DFB-Pokal. The three state associations with the largest number of members are each allowed to award an additional place in the first round for next season. Therefore in Lower Saxony, two cup competitions have been held since the 2018/2019 season. While only teams from the 3.Liga and the Regionalliga take part in the first competition, all amateur teams below the Regionalliga compete in the second competition. Both cup winners qualify for the DFB-Pokal.

In Westphalia, in addition to the winner of the state cup, since 2015/2016 the winner of a deciding match between the champion of the Oberliga Westfalen and the best Westphalian team from the Regionalliga West also competes in the first round of the DFB-Pokal. As a result of the cancellation of the 2020/2021 season of the Oberliga Westfalen, there has been no champion. Consequently, SC Preußen Münster have automatically received the right to start in the DFB-Pokal this time, as they finished as the best Westphalian Regionalliga West side. Since SCP also qualified for the final of the Westfalenpokal, their opponents in the final Sportfreunde Lotte have also qualified for the DFB-Pokal, regardless of the outcome of the final. To ensure a balance, the Football and Athletics Association of Westphalia (FLVW) has decided that next year the champion of the Oberliga Westfalen will automatically qualify for the DFB-Pokal.

In Bavaria, in addition to the state cup winner, the best-placed amateur club from the Regionalliga Bayern usually also qualifies for the DFB-Pokal as the “Bavarian Amateur Champion”. This year, however, there is a corona-related exception. For this season, the winner of the newly created League Cup of the Regionalliga Bayern will qualify instead. As things stand, SpVgg Oberfranken Bayreuth, FV Illertissen, VfB Eichstätt and TSV Buchbach are still in a position to win this.

Participating teams in the 2021/22 DFB-Pokal:


1.FC Köln
1.FSV Mainz 05
1.FC Union Berlin
Arminia Bielefeld

Bayer 04 Leverkusen
Borussia Dortmund
Borussia Mönchengladbach
Eintracht Frankfurt

FC Augsburg
FC Bayern München
FC Schalke 04
Hertha BSC

RB Leipzig
SC Freiburg
SV Werder Bremen
TSG Hoffenheim

VfB Stuttgart
VfL Wolfsburg


1.FC Heidenheim
1.FC Nürnberg
Eintracht Braunschweig
FC Erzgebirge Aue

FC St. Pauli
FC Würzburger Kickers
Fortuna Düsseldorf
Hamburger SV

Hannover 96
Holstein Kiel
Karlsruher SC
SC Paderborn 07

SpVgg Greuther Fürth
SSV Jahn Regensburg
SV Darmstadt 98
SV Sandhausen

VfL Bochum
VfL Osnabrück


Dynamo Dresden (3. Liga champions)
FC Hansa Rostock (3. Liga runners-up)
FC Ingolstadt 04 (third in 3. Liga)
TSV 1860 München (fourth in 3. Liga)


SC Preußen Münster (as the best Westphalian Regionalliga West side)

Sportfreunde Lotte (as Westfalenpokal finalists against SC Preußen Münster, who have already qualified)

To be determined on the final day:


Hallescher FC/1. FC Magdeburg (representative of the Saxony-Anhalt Football Association)


FC-Astoria Walldorf/SV Waldhof Mannheim (winner of Baden-Pokal)
SV Meppen/SV Drochtersen/Assel (winner of the Niedersachsen-Pokal for 3. Liga and Regionalliga teams)

FC Viktoria Köln/Alemannia Aachen (winner of the Mittelrheinpokal)
SV 07 Elversberg/1st FC Saarbrücken (winner of Saarlandpokal)

SV Wehen Wiesbaden/TSV Steinbach Haiger (winner of Hessenpokal)


BFC Dynamo/Berliner AK (winner of Berlin-Pokal)
Chemnitzer FC/1st FC Lok Leipzig (winner of Sachsenpokal)

SV Babelsberg 03/FSV Union Fürstenwalde (winner of Brandenburg-Pokal)
TSG Balingen/SSV Ulm 1846 Fußball (winner of Württemberg-Pokal)

Wuppertaler SV/SV Straelen (winner of Niederrheinpokal)


TuS Rot-Weiß Koblenz/VfB Linz (winner of Rheinlandpokal)


Bavarian Football Association (two representatives – winner of League Cup and winner of Toto-Pokal)
Bremen Football Association

Hamburg Football Association (FC Eintracht Norderstedt or FC Teutonia 05 Ottensen)
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern State Football Association

Lower Saxony Football Association (second representative/ amateur cup winner)
Schleswig-Holstein Football Association

South Baden Football Association
Southwest German Football Association

Thuringian Football Association

About Press Release

Check Also

Leon Goretzka extends Bayern Munich contract until 2026!

FC Bayern Munich have extended Leon Goretzka’s contract, which was originally due to run until …