Sunday , April 11 2021

Aizawl FC lift their fourth Mizoram Premier League trophy in MPL-8 final!

Aizawl FC became four time Mizoram Premier League champions after they see off a valiant challenge from Electric Veng FC on Saturday, December 14 evening in the final of season 8.

Goals from Isak Vanlalruatfela and F. Lalremsanga on either side of half-time at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium was enough to give the reigning champions the victory.

A packed schedule for the I-League club did not deter them from putting a strong display in the final as Standly Rozario’s team started the game brightly.

The lively William Lalnunfela’s movement upfront proved to be crucial as he played a vital role in Isak’s goal on the 19th minute.

Vanlallawmtluanga enjoyed Electric Veng FC’s best chance of the half as he tested Aizawl FC’s goalkeeper Lalremruata.

Aizawl FC did not show signs of any fatigue in the second period playing with the same energy that resulted in another goal. F. Lalremsanga grabbed their second of the night on the 62nd minute and almost added another late on in a comprehensive victory for the reds.

Aizawl FC have now become the most successful club in MPL history by winning the title for the fourth time. Chanmari FC, who won it twice, are behind them in front of Dinthar FC and Chhinga Veng FC who both won one apiece.


The Final – Rajiv Gandhi Stadium

Aizawl FC 2-0 Electric Veng FC
(Isak Vanlalruatfela 19′, F Lalremsanga 62′)

About Press Release

Check Also

AIFF ensures pathway for prospective talents remain wide open to carry Indian Football Forward Together!

Last month, Indian Head Coach Igor Stimac set a new record handing as many as …