Monday , May 27 2024

Antonio Di Salvo names final Germany U-21 squad for U-21 Euros!

Jordan Beyer (FC Burnley) and Jan Thielmann (1.FC Köln) will have to leave the U21 national team training camp in South Tyrol due to injury. Both will therefore be absent from the U21 European Championship in Georgia and Romania (June 21 to July 8).

Head coach Antonio Di Salvo had originally named 26 players in the provisional European Championship squad. Due to the absence of Beyer, Thielmann and Patrick Osterhage (VfL Bochum), who did not travel to the training camp due to injury, the squad has now been reduced to 23 players. The DFB will report the finalised squad to UEFA by Wednesday evening.

“The injuries are extremely frustrating for both of them”

“The injuries to Jordan and Jan are extremely frustrating for us, but especially for both of them,” said Di Salvo. “I personally feel sorry for them that their dream of playing in a European Championship has gone right before the tournament. Nevertheless, we have to look ahead now. We deliberately called up more than 23 players in advance – also to be able to react to possible injuries. That’s why I’m confident that we’re in a very good place for the European Championship despite the absences.”

On June 18, the DFB team will leave for Georgia, where they will start their U21 EURO campaign against Israel in Kutaisi on June 22 (18: CEST). The other group matches are on June 25 (18:00 CEST) against the Czech Republic and on June 28 (18:00 CEST) against England.


Noah Atubolu (SC Freiburg), Christian Früchtl (Austria Wien), Nico Mantl (Aalborg BK)

Maximilian Bauer (FC Augsburg), Yann-Aurel Bisseck (Aarhus GF), Marton Dardai (Hertha BSC), Kilian Fischer (VfL Wolfsburg), Henning Matriciani (FC Schalke 04), Luca Netz (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Kenneth Schmidt (SC Freiburg), Josha Vagnoman (VfB Stuttgart)

Faride Alidou (Eintracht Frankfurt), Denis Huseinbasic (1.FC Köln), Yannik Keitel (SC Freiburg), Ansgar Knauff (Eintracht Frankfurt), Tom Krauß (FC Schalke 04), Eric Martel (1.FC Köln), Youssoufa Moukoko (Borussia Dortmund), Jessic Ngankam (Hertha BSC), Kevin Schade (FC Brentford), Angelo Stiller (TSG Hoffenheim), Nelson Weiper (1.FSV Mainz 05), Noah Weißhaupt (SC Freiburg)

About Press Release

Check Also

Germany mourns Karl-Heinz Schnellinger!

German football mourns the death of former international Karl-Heinz Schnellinger, who has passed away at …