Wednesday , April 21 2021

Calcutta Premier Division: East Bengal defeat Peerless SC 2-0!

Calcutta Football LeagueEast Bengal Club scored a 2-0 win over Peerless SC in their second Calcutta Football League’s Premier Division ‘A’ match at the Kalyani Municipality Stadium this afternoon.

East Bengal showed a much better game than in their first encounter to move to the top of the CFL standings with six points from two matches.

After settling down East Bengal completely dominated the first half and opened the scoring in the 18th minute when Rahul Bheke nodded in an inch perfect corner by Mehtab Hossein. The lead was doubled in similar fashion by Arnab KumarMondal in the 30th minute, Mehtab again being the provider from another corner to give East Bengal a comfortable 2-0 lead.

But only three minutes later Do Dong Hyun’s penalty after the South Korean himself had been fouled was saved by Shankar Roy in the Peerless SC goal with East Bengal wasting numerous chances of a bigger lead at half time.

Peerless SC led by former East Bengal allrounder Syed Rahim Nabi made an effort to come back in the second half but East Bengal continued their dominance with the two substitutions by coach Trevor Morgan in bringing in Calum Angus and Robert Lalthalmuana stabilised the backline for the red and gold, who saw out the match for a 2-0 win.


East Bengal Club 2-0 Peerless SC – Goals: 1-0 Rahul Bheke (18′), 2-0 Arnab Kumar Mondal (30′)

East Bengal Club: Luis Xavier Barreto – Rahul Bheke, Arnab Kumar Mondal [C], Gurwinder Singh, Narayan Das – Abinash Ruidas (73′ Robert Lalthalmuana), Dong Hyun Do (72′ Calum Angus), Mehtab Hossein, Mohammed Rafique, Jiten Murmu, Somide Adelaja

Peerless SC: Shankar Roy – Arijit Bagui, Ugochukwu, Akhil Rajbangshi, Irfan Khan, Arghya Chakravarty, Kallol Pal (74′ Rahul Jaiswal), Sukhwinder Singh, Anil Kisku (54′ Laxmi Kant Mandi), Syed Rahim Nabi (86′ Sourav Mallick), Agogo Kromah

Referee: Animesh Biswas

Man of the Match: Arnab Mondal (East Bengal Club)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

I-League Fans’ Season Awards VIDEO: Save of the Season 2020-21!

Yet another thrilling season of the I-League ended with a blockbuster finale as Gokulam Kerala FC …