Champions East Bengal suffer surprise 1-2 CFL loss to Peerless SC!

Eight-time defending champions East Bengal Club suffered their first Calcutta Football League – Premier Division ‘A’ loss in ages, a 1-2 to Peerless SC at the East Bengal ground on Thursday afternoon.

Peerless SC had the better start as they went ahead in the 6th minute through a striker by Liberian Ansumana Kromah, who last season had played for both Mohun Bagan and East Bengal. The red and gold had chances to equalise but it stayed 0-1 at the break.

After continued pressure and attacks, East Bengal did get the elusive 1-1 through Kassim Aidara in the 71st minute but the joy was short lived as substitute Narohari Shrestha once again put Peerless SC ahead only six minutes later. East Bengal again tried to get on level terms but the Peerless defence stood tall and scored a memorable victory.

For East Bengal it was the first CFL loss since August 10, 2014, when they had suffered a 0-1 loss to Mohammedan Sporting. This loss massively dents East Bengal’s chances of winning the CFL title for a ninth straight time as they fall three points behind archrivals Mohun Bagan with only two matches to play.


East Bengal Club 1-2 Peerless SC

Goals: 0-1 Ansumana Kromah (6′), 1-1 Kassim Aidara (71′), 1-2 Narohari Shrestha (77′)

East Bengal Club: Rakshit Dagar – Samad Ali Mallick [C], Mehtab Singh, Johnny Acosta, Lalramchullova (65′ Kamalpreet Singh) – Brandon Vanlalremdika (36′ Surabuddin Mallick), Mahmoud Al Amna, Kassim Aidara, Lalrindika Ralte (57′ Bali Gagandeep), Laldanmawia Ralte – Jobby Justin

Peerless SC: Sandip Pal – Avinava Bag, Chika Wali, Dalraj Singh, Hira Mondal (Narhari Shrestha), Nuruddin, Shaukat, Dipankar Das, Syed Rahim Nabi, Ansumana Kromah, Anthony Wolfe

Referee: Prabir Dhar

Man of the Match: Narohari Shrestha (Peerless SC)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

David Lalhlansanga: The I-League star hopes to emit light in Blue Tigers’ galaxy!

David Lalhlansanga is the newest face in the Indian senior men’s national camp. Out of …