Chennaiyin FC B begin Second Division League campaign hosting Bengaluru FC B!

The Chennaiyin FC B team is set to compete in the upcoming Second Division League with a home game against Bengaluru FC B at the SSN College in Chennai on Monday. Chennaiyin FC B will be one of eight Indian Super League clubs fielding reserve teams (except NorthEast United FC and Odisha FC) in the 17-team Second Division League, the second tier of Indian football. And along with Bengaluru FC B, the Chennai FC B team are pitted against Hyderabad FC B, Bhowanipore FC and Mohammedan Sporting Club in Group B.

The Second Division League will begin with a preliminary round that involves the 17 teams divided into two groups of six teams each and one group of five teams. Teams will play on a home and away basis against other teams within a group. The winners of each group along with the best second-placed team between Group A and C will qualify for the final round. However, if reserve teams of ISL/I-League clubs finish as winners or runners-up in any group, the position will be passed on to the next non-ISL team.

After the opening day clash with Bengaluru FC B, Chennaiyin FC B play two more home games against Bhowanipore FC (January 31) and Hyderabad FC B (February 6). Chennaiyin FC B then are on the road to face Mohammedan Sporting (February 20) and Bhowanipore FC (February 23) in the reverse fixture both in Kolkata. The final group game promises to be another feisty affair against Bengaluru FC B at the Bangalore Football Stadium on March 25.

The Second Division League promises to be the perfect platform for the talented Chennaiyin FC B team to gain big-game exposure, with top young talent from Tamil Nadu and around the country. With an average age of 19 years, the Chennaiyin FC B 20-man squad comprises eight players from the state, everyone hoping to stake a claim to the senior team squad through their performances. And guiding them through this challenge will be experienced head coach Santosh Kashyap, who has been at the helm of I-League outfits Aizawl FC, Mumbai FC, Mohun Bagan, Salgaocar FC and Royal Wahingdoh FC among others in the past.

Chennaiyin FC B

Joel Aju (Kollam), Revanth B.Y. (Chennai), Vignesh V. (Pudukottai)

Ahino Paul (Kaniyakumari), Sahil (Delhi), Kannan M. (Chennai), Melroy Assisi (Mumbai), Mohammed Sarif Khan (Imphal), Charles Britto (Trichy), Pranav Chauhan (Mumbai), Paarvin Raj (Chennai), Ajith Appadurai (Thanjavur)

Shubham Mane (Mumbai), Bibin Boban (Kochi), Zonunmawia (Champhai), Joysana Singh (Imphal), Ajay Alex (Bengaluru)

Balkar Singh (Hoshiarpur), Senthamizhi S. (Karaikal), Mukeleshwaran Vanaraja (Dindigul)

About Press Release

Check Also

Corbett FC’s Mohammed Rizwan: AIFF U-17 Youth League crucial for players’ development!

Corbett FC, though a relatively new club, are no strangers to youth football in India. …