FIFA Puskás Award 2016: ten best goals of the year announced!

fifa-football-awardsWho is The Best? Who scored the best goal of the year? The race to determine the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award 2016 has started today, November 21, 2016, on Football fans across the world can decide which of the ten goals chosen by FIFA and selected Football Committee members will win this award.

The ten goals are (in alphabetical order of the scorer’s names):

Mario Gaspar (ESP) – 13.11.2015, Spain v. England, international friendly

Hlompho Kekana (RSA) -26.03.2016, Cameroon v. South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier

Marlone (BRA) – 21.04.2016, Corinthians v. Cobresal, Copa Libertadores

Lionel Messi (ARG) – 21.06.2016, USA v. Argentina, Copa América Centenario semi-final

Neymar (BRA) – 08.11.2015, Barcelona v. Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)

Saúl Ñíguez (ESP) – 27.04.2016, Atlético Madrid v. Bayern Munich, UEFA Champions League

Hal Robson-Kanu (WAL) -01.07.2016, Wales v. Belgium, UEFA EURO 2016

Daniuska Rodríguez (VEN) – 14.03.2016, Venezuela v. Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship

Simon Skrabb (FIN) – 31.10.2015, Gefle v. Åtvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden

Mohd Faiz Subri (MAS) -16.02.2016, Penang v. Pahang, Malaysia Super League

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found here: and on FIFA on YouTube users will be able to choose from the ten goals until December 2, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed. Immediately after the announcement, users will be able to vote again for their favourite from the three remaining goals. The winner will be revealed on the day of The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on January 9, 2017. Voting will close during the show.

The FIFA Puskás Award was created in 2009 in honour of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s.

During the awards show on January 9, 2017, the winners of The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Women’s Player, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Awards for 2016 will also be revealed.

On December 1, the 55 nominees for the FIFA FIFPro World11 will be released, and the winners of awards across all categories, including the FIFA Fair Play Award, will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards show.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Tickets for historic FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2024 matches on sale from Thursday!

The draw for the 11th edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup was made …