Germany Women’s squad named for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers against Bulgaria & Serbia!

Lena Petermann and Kathrin Hendrich return to the Germany Women’s National Team squad following spells of injury as the team begins its 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying campaign. Germany Women’s head coach Martina Voss-Tecklenberg has included the pair in her 24-woman squad for the upcoming fixtures against Bulgaria in Cottbus (September 18, 16:05 CEST) and against Serbia in Chemnitz (September 21, 16:00 CEST). Also returning is Dzsenifer Marozsán, who was recently absent from the squad whilst playing for OL Reign in the USA National Women’s Soccer League.

However, the head coach must contend without several key players: Paulina Krumbiegel (TSG Hoffenheim), Leonie Maier (FC Everton) and Alexandra Popp (VfL Wolfsburg) are all ruled out due to injury, and Marina Hegering (FC Bayern München), Almuth Schult, Felicitas Rauch (both VfL Wolfsburg) and Nicole Anyomi (Eintracht Frankfurt) are still recovering from their injuries.

Martina Voss-Tecklenberg commented, “We are about to face two teams who like to defend deep and create tight spaces. To counter this, we will need to play fast-paced and precise football to break these teams down and get our World Cup qualifying campaign off to a good start.”

The team is not just focusing on qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in New Zealand and Australia but also on the 2022 UEFA European Championship in England, which will take place from July 6-31. The National Team head coach added, “We are viewing each of our games from now as an opportunity to prepare for the European Championship as we are also concentrating on next summer’s competition in England alongside qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, which means the fight for a place in the squad has begun.”

The German Women’s National Team have been drawn into 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying group H with Serbia, Bulgaria, Turkey, Israel and Portugal. Each of the nine qualifying group winners will advance directly to the finals, and two more spaces will be up for grabs via play-off matches for the second-placed teams from each group.


Laura Benkarth (Bayern München), Ann-Katrin Berger (FC Chelsea), Merle Frohms (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Sara Doorsoun (VfL Wolfsburg), Jana Feldkamp (TSG Hoffenheim), Kathrin Hendrich (VfL Wolfsburg), Sophia Kleinherne (Eintracht Frankfurt), Lena Lattwein (VfL Wolfsburg), Sjoeke Nüsken (Eintracht Frankfurt), Lena Oberdorf (VfL Wolfsburg), Maximiliane Rall (Bayern München)

Jule Brand (TSG Hoffenheim), Klara Bühl (Bayern München), Sara Däbritz (Paris St. Germain), Linda Dallmann (Bayern München), Laura Freigang (Eintracht Frankfurt), Svenja Huth (VfL Wolfsburg), Melanie Leupolz (FC Chelsea), Sydney Lohmann (Bayern München), Lina Magull (Bayern München), Dzsenifer Marozsan (OL Reign), Lena Petermann (HSC Montpellier), Lea Schüller (Bayern München), Tabea Waßmuth (VfL Wolfsburg)

Fabienne Dongus (TSG Hoffenheim), Turid Knaak (VfL Wolfsburg), Sandra Starke (VfL Wolfsburg), Martina Tufekovic (TSG Hoffenheim), Pia-Sophie Wolter (VfL Wolfsburg)

About Press Release

Check Also

2024 Ballon d’Or awards ceremony date and venue announced!

Following the partnership announced at the end of last year between UEFA and Groupe Amaury, …