Indian Navy retain the Independence Cup in Mumbai!

Indian Navy defended their Independence Cup crown by brushing aside a good Western Railways team by beating them 5-1 in the final. Indian Navy has now started the season in brilliant fashion and it is to be seen, what Indian Navy can make of the season ahead.

The day started with the first semifinal, which saw, Indian Navy clash with the Central Bank of India with a lot of attacks from the Navymen only to be well defended by Central Bank, playing with ten men, saw their Captain Rethink Mukherjee being sent off in the 39th minute. With a 0-0 draw at full-time, Navy won 5-4 on penalties, with Navy goalkeeper making a fantastic save.

The second semifinal saw, Western Railway take on Mumbai Strikers with the former winning 1-0, courtesy a well driven goal from Linekar Machado, who has been the man to go for Western Railways in the Independence Cup.

After the two brilliantly well played semifinals, the stage was all set for the Grand Final, where Western Railways and Navy were meeting for the fourth time in a row, and which was Navy’s fifth final on a row. Navy started the match with a bang, with Navy Number 9, Britto scoring the opening goal at the 9th minute along with another goal for Hari Krishna at the 17th minute.

In the second session Somi scored for Western Railways as their hopes for a comeback sored only for a goal in the 36th minute from Navy player, Benno to squash all hopes for Western Railways. After the Benno goal, Western Railways defence faltered, conceding a goal from Sarbjth Singh in the 39th minute and Western Railways player, Raju Singh putting one in his own net in injury time.

At full-time, the score stood 5-1 in favour of Indian Navy, thus Navy winning its fourth Independence Cup title in five years, and Western Railways losing their third final in four years.

Indian Navy player Britto P.M. was chosen as the Best Player.

About Press Release

Check Also

Etihad Airways fly Manchester City community coaches to India for Etihad Young Leaders Summit!

Twenty-seven Young Leaders from the project network in Bangalore, New Delhi, and Kolkata joined together …