Wednesday , April 17 2024

Julian Nagelsmann names Germany squad for USA & Mexico friendlies!

Julian Nagelsmann nominated his first squad of 26 players for the Germany national team’s trip to the USA this Friday, October 6.

The national coach appointed three newcomers, Robert Andrich from Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Kevin Behrens from Union Berlin and Chris Führich from VfB Stuttgart, who will be part of the DFB team for the first time. In addition, world champion Mats Hummels from Borussia Dortmund, Leon Goretzka from FC Bayern Munich, David Raum from RB Leipzig and goalkeeper Bernd Leno from the English Premier League club FC Fulham, who were recently missing from the national team squad for various reasons, are returning to the team . Niclas Füllkrug (Borussia Dortmund) and Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern Munich) had already been called up in September, but missed the international matches against Japan and France due to injury.

Germany head coach Julian Nagelsmann said, “We are a new coaching team and want to see as many players as possible in the national team circle. Our goal is to get used to each other as quickly as possible in the short time we have and to try in the few training sessions to implement the content. I expect, even in this short time, that you can see that everyone wants to play for the DFB, that everyone wants to win games, even in the here and now. Everyone should be extremely focused and with that ‘You can travel to the USA with the necessary fun, the necessary desire and, above all, the necessary greed’.”

The Germany national team meets in Frankfurt on Sunday evening. On Monday they travel to Boston and first meet the USA on October 14 (from 3 pm local time, from 9pm CET, live on RTL) in Hartford, Connecticut; then on October 17 (from 8pm local time, from 2am CET, live on ARD) in Philadelphia against CONCACAF Gold Cup winners Mexico.

The USA, Mexico and Canada will jointly host the FIFA World Cup in 2026. The Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, which holds more than 65,000 fans, is one of the 16 stadiums for the upcoming FIFA World Cup.


Oliver Baumann (TSG Hoffenheim), Bernd Leno (FC Fulham), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Robin Gosens (1. FC Union Berlin), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), David Raum (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid), Niklas Süle (Borussia Dortmund), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Malick Thiaw (AC Milan)

Robert Andrich (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Chris Führing (VfB Stuttgart), Pascal Groß (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ilkay Gündogan (FC Barcelona), Jonas Hofmann (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (FC Bayern Munich), Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern Munich), Leroy Sané (FC Bayern Munich), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

DFB mourns the death of FIFA World Cup winner Bernd Hölzenbein!

The German Football Association (DFB) is mourning the loss of Bernd Hölzenbein. The former national …