Thursday , May 19 2022

Mohammedan Sporting thrash George Telegraph 4-1; move to third in the CFL table!

Mohammedan Sporting - George TelegraphMohammedan Sporting Club thrashed George Telegraph SC 4-1 to log their third win in the ongoing Calcutta Football League’s Premier Division – A, at the Barasat Municipal Stadium on Wednesday evening.

The Black Panthers, who lead 2-0 at the interval, scored through Manvir Singh (10′, 31′), Atinder Mani (49′) and Parminder Singh (90+3′) while Rajib Shaw (84′) pulled a goal back for George Telegraph.

Going into the match coach Mridul Banerjee fielded an unchanged team from the previous match against Bhowanipore FC.

Mohammedan Sporting started off aggressively and surged ahead within just ten minutes into the game when Manvir slotted home off a Dipendu Dowary pass.

Having scored, Mohammedan Sporting increased the pressure on the rival defence and it yielded another goal just past the half hour mark when Manvir scored from Atinder’s pass to give his team a two goal advantage before half-time.

Mridul Banerjee’s men began the second-half strongly and just four minutes into the half they virtually finished off the match after Atinder converted from a brilliant through ball played by Leonce Dodoz inside the George Telegraph box.

Thereafter, Mohammedan Sporting dominated the majority of the proceedings and in the process several chances fell for Dodoz and Manvir but the duo lacked the finishing in the final third, otherwise the scoreline would have been much bigger.

While Mohammedan Sporting pressed high up, George Telegraph managed to pull a goal back against the run of the play when Rajib capitalised on a defensive error to beat Mohammedan Sporting keeper Shayan Roy.

Then, substitute Parminder, who replaced Manvir, rounded off the tally scoring off a Dodoz pass in added time.

After this 4-1 win Mohammedan Sporting moved up into third spot of the Calcutta Football League’s Premier Division – A with nine points from four games and will take on Aryan Club on Saturday, August 20 at the same venue.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Delhi FC lift the Bordoloi Trophy in Guwahati!

Delhi FC were crowned champions of the Bordoloi Trophy as they beat Nagaland Police in …