Saturday , May 25 2024

NEROCA win the 11th Manipur State League title!

manipur-neroca-fcThe final of the 11th Manipur State League was played on Friday afternoon at the Khuman Lampak main stadium in Imphal between defending champions Anouba Imagi Mangal (AIM) and NEROCA FC, which the latter won 4-3 on penalties.

Both teams had their chances in regulation time, but the match ended goalless and it went into a penalty shootout in which all four NEROCA players scored, while AIM only had three goals which resulted in the loss.

For NEROCA from Sangakpham, who play in the Second Division League and reached the final of this seasons Durand Cup, winning the Manipur State League means another feather in their cap and what makes this triumph even more special is that they were not beaten once over the course of the MSL season, while AIM from Khabam will have to be content with the runners-up spot this season.

NEROCA received Rs 200,000 (2 lakhs) as champions, while AIM got Rs 100,000 (1 lakh) as runners-up and they were also presented with the Daniel Khumukcham memorial trophy besides Rs 20,000.

The highest goalscorer of the tournament award was shared by Th Modhumangol Singh (NACO) and N Pritam Singh (AIM) with both players scoring 13 goals.

Player of the league award was won by NEROCA goalkeeper and captain Lalit Thapa and he received the Jameson Khumukcham memorial trophy along with Rs 20,000.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

XtraTime VIDEO: Mohun Bagan SG beat Pax of Nagao in RFDL!

As XtraTime reports, Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan SG scored a 2-0 win over Pax of …