Wednesday , May 18 2022

New records of entries in the qualifiers for African women’s competitions!

The participation of national teams in women’s football competitions is constantly improving. For the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations – Morocco, 45 National Associations have entered the competition.

48 hours from the competition’s qualifiers’ draw, CAFOnline gives you all the details relating to the teams’ participation in the qualifiers for the Africa Cup of Nations, also qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup – Australia – New Zealand.

At the same time, you will find everything there is to know about the African qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup – India and the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup – Costa Rica.

Total Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022

It will be the first edition organized under the format of 12 teams.

The 2016 and 2018 AFCON qualifiers brought together 23 and 24 teams respectively.

After the cancellation of the 2020 edition due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the figures for the 2022 edition show an estimated engagement rate of 80%.

Indeed, 45 teams have committed to participate, including Morocco, the host country of the final tournament. With the Shereefian Kingdom automatically qualified because of its host status, 44 teams will take part in the qualifiers.

The most represented region is the CECAFA zone (Center-East) with 10 teams: Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, South Sudan, Tanzania and Sudan.

Next comes the COSAFA zone with nine countries: South Africa, Zimbabwe, Angola, Namibia, Botswana, Eswatini, Mozambique, Malawi and Zambia.

WAFU A has eight (8) teams: Mali, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mauritania, Sierra Leone. Its counterpart WAFU B presents 7 teams: Nigeria, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Benin, Burkina Faso, Niger, Togo.

UNIFFAC presents seven (7) teams from its area: Cameroon, Congo, DR Congo, Gabon, Central African Republic, Sao Tome, Equatorial Guinea.

Finally, UNAF has three teams Tunisia, Algeria and Egypt, with Morocco already qualified.

The playoffs will span three rounds with home and away matches starting in the FIFA window from June 7 to 15, 2021.

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India 2022

29 teams will take part in the qualifiers which will determine CAF’s three places.

This qualifying phase will be contested in the form of four rounds organized in home and away matches.

CECAFA (9), COSAFA (4), WAFU A (6), WAFU B (4), UNIFFAC (4), UNAF (2)

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa 2022

CAF will have two representatives for the final tournament of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica 2022.

However, a total of 40 teams decided to take part in the playoffs, a new record. The qualifying phase will take place in five (5) rounds organized in home and away matches.

CECAFA (9), COSAFA (4), WAFU A (6), WAFU B (4), UNIFFAC (4), UNAF (2)

About Press Release

Check Also

Ethics Committee opens formal proceedings against Gabonese football officials charged with sexual abuse!

In December 2021, the independent Ethics Committee initiated preliminary investigation proceedings into allegations of sexual …