Saturday , December 2 2023

Shillong Lajong Youngsters crowned champions of 8th Bodousa Cup in Assam!

Shillong Lajong Juniors - Bodousa CupThe Youngsters of I-League side Shillong Lajong FC were crowned champions of the 8th Bodousa Cup 2016 after winning 2-0 against Assam State Electricity Board (ASEB) SC on Sunday, July 10 in Tinsukia, Assam.

The Lajong youngsters remained undefeated throughout the tournament and conceded only two goals. The team coached by Alison Kharsyntiew played with Great Spirit and won the hearts of many in Assam.

The Reds who started the match as favourites after defeating defending Champions Oil India FC in the semifinals, played a good game and pressed forward right from kick off. They threatened their opponent’s goal on many occasions and enjoyed majority of the possession. ASEB SC had quite a few chances to trouble the Lajong keeper but were lacking a clinical finisher. Their players worked hard to upset the Reds but the Lajong defence stood strong.

Lajong’s attacking display paid off when Milan Basumatary found the net in the 42nd minute. They scored the second goal in the 46th minute of the first half through Sheen Sohktung.

In the second half, the Lajong players were brimming with confidence and kept immense pressure on ASEB. There were good chances for both teams to score in the second half but unfortunately there were no goals scored and thus the match ended 2-0 in favour of the Reds from Shillong.

The Man of the Match was Milan Basumatary. He also won the Man of the Tournament and the highest goalscorer award with 11 goals. The best goalkeeper was also awarded to Lajong’s player; Nithovalie.

Shillong Lajong line-up: Nithovalie – Sandeep Singh, Meban Wahlang, Allen Nongbri, Khlainbor Khongsit, Kagaly, Hardy Nongbri, Lalmangaisanga, Redeem Tlang, Sheen Sohktung, Milan Basumatary
Subs: Frolicson Dkhar, Chiranjeet Gogoi, Joe Zoherliana, Tridev Boro, Loyangamba Meitei, Sana Ningombam

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Delhi FC triumphs over former I-League champions Churchill Brothers!

Delhi FC displayed unwavering spirit and determination as they triumphed over Churchill Brothers, securing a …