Friday , January 22 2021

The Best FIFA Football Awards reveals 2018 nominees!

FIFA has today revealed the shortlisted candidates for four of the individual trophies, which will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London on September 24, 2018.

The announcement comes after a spectacular 2018 FIFA World Cup, where football’s finest showcased their immense passion and unrivalled skill across Russia in the race to be crowned The Best.

Ten candidates in each of the following four categories have been named:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC); Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City FC); Antoine Griezmann (France/ Atlético Madrid); Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea FC); Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur FC); Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain FC); Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona); Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid CF); Mohammed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC); Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid CF).

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais); Pernille Harder (Denmark/VfL Wolfsburg); Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais); Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Samantha Kerr (Australia/Sky Blue FC/Perth Glory FC/Chicago Red Stars); Saki Kumagai (Japan/Olympique Lyonnais); Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/ Olympique Lyonnais); Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride); Megan Rapinoe (USA/Seattle Reign FC); Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais).

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus FC); Stanislav Cherchesov (Russia/Russia national team); Zlatko Dalic (Croatia/Croatia national team); Didier Deschamps (France/France national team); Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City FC); Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool FC); Roberto Martínez (Spain/Belgium national team); Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atlético Madrid); Gareth Southgate (England/England national team); Ernesto Valverde (Spain/FC Barcelona); Zinédine Zidane (France/Real Madrid CF).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea Ladies FC); Stephan Lerch (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg); Mark Parsons (England/Portland Thorns FC); Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Alen Stajcic (Australia/Australia national team); Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team); Vadão (Brazil/Brazil national team); Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain national team); Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Switzerland national team); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/The Netherlands national team).

FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above in early September 2018.

Returning to London for the second successive year, the THE BEST FIFA Football Awards will honour the sport’s top players and coaching talent from around the world, recognising their extraordinary achievements over the past season.

Two panels of renowned experts, revealed earlier this month, have decided upon the shortlisted candidates based on their performances across the full 2017/18 season.

Voting Now Open

Once again, the fans at the heart of the game will play a key role in deciding the men’s and women’s players and coaches of the year, reflecting FIFA’s commitment to connect the awards with the broader football world and especially the fans – enabling them to have a voice in the selection of their footballing heroes as award winners.

Winners of the above four categories will be chosen by a process involving stakeholders from across the world of football, including players, coaches, fans and media.

  • The captains of all national teams decide on 25% of the results
  • The head coaches of all national teams decide on 25% of the results
  • A public fan ballot on decides on 25% of the results
  • A group of around 200 members of the international media decides on 25% of the results

Public voting opens today on and closes on August 10, 2018.

FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the Best FIFA Goalkeeper award – at the start of September.

For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see the Rules of Allocation

Keep up with the latest news about The Best FIFA Football Awards, visit, The Best FIFA Football Awards official Facebook page and FIFA on Youtube.

Join the discussion about who should win this year’s prizes by using the hashtag #TheBest

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Statement by FIFA & its six confederations on breakaway competitions!

In light of recent media speculation about the creation of a closed European ‘Super League’ …