Three Candidates apply for UEFA Presidency

UEFAThree candidates have officially submitted their candidacies for the position of UEFA President ahead of the deadline of Wednesday, July 20, 2016.

The candidates are Aleksander Čeferin (President, Football Association of Slovenia), Michael van Praag (President, Royal Netherlands Football Association) and Ángel María Villar Llona (President, Royal Spanish Football Federation).

The election will take place at the 12th Extraordinary UEFA Congress on September 14 in Athens, Greece.

The candidates for the Presidency will be subject to an eligibility check, conducted by the Review Committee of FIFA due to the fact that the UEFA President automatically becomes a FIFA Council vice-president.

In addition, Evelina Christillin of the Italian Football Federation and Laura McAllister of the Football Association of Wales have officially submitted their candidacies for the position of UEFA’s additional female member on the FIFA Council, and they too will be subject to a FIFA eligibility check.

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

arunfoot: Candid Football Conversations #301 UEFA EURO 2024 / Indian Football Circus!

Candid Football Conversations returns with another live show talking about the latest from Indian football …