Wednesday , February 21 2024

World Cup winners Germany name their final Euro 2016 squad!

DFB logoGermany coach Joachim Löw has named his final 23 players Germany squad for the 2016 European Championship to be played from June 10 to July 10 in France.

Not part of the squad is an injured Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), who after the 2010 & 2014 FIFA World Cup again misses a big tournament. Others who have been left out are seasoned Sebastian Rudy (1899 Hoffenheim) and Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen) besides youngster Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen).

The currently injured defender Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund) and captain Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United) will make it into the squad though they might miss some of the group matches, but would be ready for the important knockout matches.

As part of the training camp, Die Mannschaft suffered a 1-3 loss to Slovakia on Sunday, May 29 in Augsburg and the camp ends on Saturday, June 4 (18:00h) with a match against Hungary in Gelsenkirchen.

After that the player return home for two days to be with their families, before the squad travels to Evian in France on June 7, where the national team will be based throughout the tournament.

The tournament starts on June 10 (21:00h) with the opening match between hosts France and Romania. Germany are in action against Ukraine on June 12 (21:00h) in Lille, before they face neighbours Poland on June 16 (21:00h) at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis. The final group game takes place on June 21 (18:00h) against Northern Ireland at the Park de Prince in Paris.


1-Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich), 12-Bernd Leno (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), 22-Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)

2-Shkodran Mustafi (FC Valencia), 3-Jonas Hector (1. FC Köln), 4-Benedikt Höwedes (FC Schalke 04), 5-Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), 14-Emre Can (FC Liverpool), 16-Antonio Rüdiger (AS Roma), 17-Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern Munich)

6-Sami Khedira (Juventus Turin), 7-Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United), 8-Mesut Özil (FC Arsenal), 9-André Schürrle (VfL Wolfsburg), 10-Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray Istanbul), 11-Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), 13-Thomas Müller (FC Bayern Munich), 15-Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), 18-Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), 19-Mario Götze (FC Bayern Munich), 20-Leroy Sané (FC Schalke 04), 21-Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich), 23-Mario Gomez (Besiktas Istanbul)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

EURO 2024 on the horizon for the UEFA Foundation!

The UEFA Foundation for Children will once again undertake a range of charitable projects alongside …