All eyes on FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2024 in Colombia draw!

The Draw for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Colombia 2024 will take place in Bogotá on Wednesday, June 5 and can be followed live on FIFA+.

The event will take place at Hall 74 Centro de Eventos in the Colombian capital and start at 10:00 local time. The draw will define the group-stage matchups and subsequent pathways at the tournament’s 11th edition, the first to feature 24 teams, up from the 16 at previous tournaments.

The presenters will be Andrea Guerrero of RCN and Marina Granziera from the Caracol network, while the host of the draw will be Jaime Yarza, FIFA Director of Tournaments.

Yarza will be assisted by two greats of women’s football, former USA international Lindsay Tarpley and Colombia’s Natalia Gaitán.

Tarpley captained and scored the trophy-winning goal for the USA at the FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship in 2002, the first women’s youth tournament organised by FIFA, which is now considered the inaugural edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Gaitán, who is still playing, is an icon of the women’s game in Colombia. As well as representing her country at the 2010 edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Germany, she played in two instalments of the FIFA Women’s World Cup and two Women’s Olympic Football Tournaments, serving as team captain on each occasion.

This will be the third FIFA tournament held in the South American nation after the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2011 and the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2016. Furthermore, it will be the second edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup organised in the CONMEBOL region, after Chile hosted the event in 2008.

Tickets for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Colombia 2024, which will be played in Bogotá, Cali and Medellín from August 31 to September 22, will go on sale on Thursday, June 6 at 08:00 local time.

Thanks to Visa, a worldwide FIFA Partner, FIFA is offering Visa cardholders an exclusive opportunity to secure match tickets early at during the Visa presale.

The main sales phase will commence on Thursday, June 13 and will remain open until the final matchday.

The draw is another major milestone in the countdown to the start of the tournament, following the launch of the Official Emblem, the announcement of the match schedule, the unveiling of the Official Mascot KINTI and the opening of the registration process for the volunteer programme.

The 24 participating teams will be Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Paraguay, Spain, USA and Venezuela.

About Press Release

Check Also

African quartet handed tricky FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup groups!

The draw for the 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Colombia has set the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *