Saturday , April 13 2024

Award winners light up OFC Women’s Champions League 2024!

The second edition of the OFC Women’s Champions League concluded on Saturday, with a tightly-contested final in Honiara.

New Zealand champions Auckland United secured a maiden title with a 1-0 victory over Papua New Guinea’s Hekari United, bringing down the curtain on another outstanding fortnight of women’s football in the Pacific.

Auckland United themselves were awarded the Fair Play Award, for their excellent disciplinary record throughout the campaign.

Tafea FC’s Jane Alatoa won the Golden Boot Award, having netted four goals in the tournament, all scored in the group stage. The powerful forward was a constant menace to the opposition as the Vanuatuan side made an impressive run to the semifinals.

The Golden Glove Award for the competition’s top goalkeeper was won by Auckland United’s Amberley Hollis. The Kiwi stopper was an influential presence for her side, as they conceded only twice across all five of their matches.

Auckland United also produced the Golden Ball Award winner. Captain Talisha Green was the outstanding figure for the eventual winners, leading by example with both her on-field ability and her leadership credentials as skipper.

OFC Women’s Champions League 2024 – Awardees

🤝 Fair Play Award – Auckland United
⚽ Golden Boot – Jane Alatoa (Tafea FC)
🧤 Golden Glove – Amberley Hollis (Auckland United FC)
🥇 Golden Ball – Talisha Green (Auckland United FC)

About Press Release

Check Also

Inclusivity the winner at Rainbow Games Football Tournament in Auckland!

The Power of Football to bring a community together was evident at the five-aside football …