Tuesday , May 21 2024

CFL champions East Bengal score tough 1-0 win over Rainbow AC!

Eight-time defending champions East Bengal Club scored a hard earned 1-0 win over Rainbow AC in the Calcutta Football League – Premier Division ‘A’ at the East Bengal ground on Sunday afternoon.

It was the expected tough encounter for the red and gold under heavy underground conditions with rains having made the East Bengal grouns lushy and difficult to play.

A 25th minute pull on Surabuddin Mallick earned East Bengal a controvertial penalty which Lalramchullova banged into the goal past former East Bengal keeper Dibyendu Sarkar’s hands for the only goal of the match.

It remained a difficult encounter for East Bengal as Rainbow AC had some good opportunities to equalise but keeper Rakshit Dagar had a great game saving his side on numerous occasions, while East Bengal also wasted their chances.

East Bengal moved back to the top of the CFL table with 16 points from six matches.


East Bengal Club 1-0 Rainbow AC

Goals: 1-0 Lalramchullova (25′ pen)

East Bengal Club: Rakshit Dagar – Samad Ali Mallick [C], Mehtab Singh, Kinshuk Debnath, Lalramchullova – Brandon Vanlalremdika, Mahmoud Al Amna, Kassim Aidara (81′ Sanchayan Sammader), Kamalpreet Singh (75′ Prakash Sarkar), Surabuddin Mallick, Joby Justin (90+3′ Bali Gagandeep)

Rainbow AC: Dibyendu Sarkar – Chattu Mondal, Asik Khan (44′ Pravakar Naskar), Guy Eric Dano, Sujit Sadhu, Dourav Roy, Abhijit Sarkar, Joel Sunday, Penn Orji (79′ Godwin Quashiga), Sraj Mahato, Sujay Dutta

Referee: Dipu Roy

Man of the Match: Mahmoud Al Amna (East Bengal Club)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Inter Kashi’s Edmund Lalrindika to train at CPL’s Atletico Ottawa!

I-League side Inter Kashi have announced that their attacker Edmund Lalrindika is set for a …