Tuesday , April 23 2024

CONCACAF announces full schedule for 2022 CONCACAF W Championship!

CONCACAF has announced the full schedule for the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship (CWC). The summer competition, which will serve as the region’s final round of qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 (FWWC) and as a qualifier to the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics, is scheduled to be played in Monterrey, Mexico, between July 4-18, 2022.

This revamped CWC is a key part of the Confederation’s new women’s senior national team ecosystem taking place from 2021 through 2024. To download the match schedule, click here (also available below).

Fans will be able to follow and enjoy the competition through the Confederation’s TV partner networks, including CBS | Paramount + (USA-English), TUDN | ViX (USA-Spanish), One Soccer (CAN), ESPN | Star+ (Mexico, Caribbean, Central America, and South America), and multiple partners around the world. For other territories, the event will be available on the Official CONCACAF App (all subject to territory restrictions).

Eight teams are slated to participate in the tournament, including the United States and Canada. The reigning FIFA Women’s World Cup Champions and the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Gold Medal winners qualified by virtue of being the top two ranked teams in CONCACAF and have been joined by hosts Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Panama, Haiti, and Trinidad and Tobago. Those six teams secured their tickets to the 2022 CWC thanks to first-place finishes in their respective groups during the 2022 CONCACAF W Qualifying (CWQ).

The eight participating nations were drawn on April 19 into two groups and will play as follows:

Group A: United States, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti
Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago

The group stage of the 2022 CWC will kick off on July 4 and will run through July 11. At the end of round robin play, the top two teams from each group will move on to the semifinals and in doing so, qualify directly to the 2023 FWWC (four teams). Meanwhile, the third placed teams in each group will qualify for a 2023 FWWC Intercontinental Playoff (two teams).

The semifinals on July 14 at Estadio Universitario, and the final and third-place match on July 18 at Estadio BBVA, will be played in a single elimination format, with the Champion qualifying for both the 2024 Paris Olympics and the inaugural CONCACAF W Gold Cup (CWGC), to be held in 2024.

The runner-up and third-place teams will also square off in a CONCACAF Olympic play-in series, scheduled for September 2023. The winner of that play-in series will also qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 CWGC.

The current CWC champion is the United States (second consecutive title and eighth overall) after they defeated Canada 2-0 in the 2018 Final, in Frisco, Texas.

2022 CONCACAF W Championship Schedule
*Listed in ET (local time) and subject to change.

Monday, July 4, 2022 – Estadio Universitario
19:00 (18:00) United States vs Haiti
22:00 (21:00) Mexico vs Jamaica

Tuesday, July 5, 2022 – Estadio BBVA
19:00 (18:00) Costa Rica vs Panama
22:00 (21:00) Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago

Thursday, July 7, 2022 – Estadio BBVA
19:00 (18:00) Jamaica vs United States
22:00 (21:00) Haiti vs Mexico

Friday, July 8, 2022 – Estadio Universitario
19:00 (18:00) Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica
22:00 (21:00) Panama vs Canada

Monday, July 11, 2022
19:00 (18:00) Canada vs Costa Rica – Estadio BBVA
19:00 (18:00) Panama vs Trinidad and Tobago – Estadio Universitario
22:00 (21:00) Jamaica vs Haiti – Estadio BBVA
22:00 (21:00) United States vs Mexico – Estadio Universitario

Thursday, July 14, 2022 – Estadio Universitario
19:00 (18:00) SF1: 1A vs 2B
22:00 (21:00) SF2: 1B vs 2A

Monday, July 18, 2022 – Estadio BBVA
19:00 (18:00) 3rd: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2
22:00 (21:00) F: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

About Press Release

Check Also

Panama lift 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship title!

Panama won the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship, defeating Cuba 4-3 in a thrilling final on …