Friday , September 30 2022

Delhi FC claim third title of the year after clinching Delhi Premier League in style!

After seven successive wins, a 1-1 draw against Garhwal FC was enough for Delhi FC to get their hands on the Delhi Premier League trophy on Tuesday, December 28 to claim third title of the year.

They started their Delhi Premier League campaign by thrashing Tarun Sangha 4-0, who they’d beaten not long ago in the Football Delhi Senior Division.

Then, they faced UttarakhandnFC in their second game, where new signing Arthur Kouassi’s goal was enough to hand them a 1-0 win.

Their third win came against Friends United as goals from Himanshu Jangra and Dipanda Dicka ensured a smooth 2-0 victory.

A sterner test followed as they faced Indian Air Force next. Indian Air Force were fresh off winning the inter-services championship, where they defeated the Indan Navy and also Indian Army, who had also made it to the semi-finals of the Durand Cup this year. But Delhi FC displayed stellar character to come from behind and win the game with a comfortable 4-1 margin.

Another stunning comeback followed in the next game, where Delhi FC edged Royal Rangers FC 3-2 for their fifth consecutive win.

They faced unbeaten Hindustan FC in their sixth game and made light work of their opponents with a 3-0 win.

Sudeva Delhi FC were next, and an undeterred Delhi FC got past them with a 2-1 scoreline to make it seven wins in as many games.

A draw is all they needed against Garhwal FC to clinch the title, and they got it. As a result, Delhi FC won their third title of the year, staying unbeaten and scoring 20 goals in the process, conceding just six, thus ending with a goal difference of +14. From start to finish, Delhi FC were on top of the points table in the Delhi Premier League. Delhi FC became the first team to win the Delhi league with an unbeaten record.

Earlier this year, Delhi FC won their first title as they got their hands on the Football Delhi Futsal League. As a result, they qualified for the inaugural National Futsal Championship, which they won by beating one of Indian Football’s legacy clubs Mohammedan Sporting Club 7-2 in the final. They created history by doing so as they became the first team from the capital to win a national title in over 70 years.

In the lead up to the Delhi Premier League, Delhi FC made history by beating Shastri FC 13-0 in the Football Delhi Senior Division, becoming the first team to win by a goal difference of 13 in over 70 years in Delhi Football.

Delhi FC also played the Durand Cup and reached the quarterfinals of the competition, but they missed out on the I-League by failing in the I-League qualifiers.

Now, they are the only non top-division club in India to send out over 60% of its players out on loan to the I-League and ISL (Anwar Ali to FC Goa; Himanshu Jangra to Indian Arrows; Dipanda Dicka, Willis Plaza, Nikhil Mali and Rinreithen Shaiza to Aizawl FC; James Kithan to Gokulam Kerala to name a few).

About Press Release

Check Also

Aizawl FC bounce back with a convincing MPL-9 win!

After seeing their winning run came to a halt with a loss in round 4, …