East Bengal lose Bordoloi Trophy final to Three Star of Nepal!

Kingfisher East BengalKolkata giants East Bengal Club suffered a 1-2 extra time defeat to Three Star Club of Nepal to finish runners-up of the 64th Bordoloi Trophy at the Nehru Stadium in Guwahati.

After a goalless first session, East Bengal took the lead in the 80th minute when Somide Adelaja nodded in a Jiten Murmu cross. But Three Star Nepal equalised in the final minute of the match through Devendra Pradhan to force extra time and there in the 98th minute Bijaya Gurung scored the winner.

East Bengal’s Samad Ali Mallick and Bijaya Gurung of Three Star were red carded in the 115th minute.

In the end Three Star Nepal lifted the trophy and received the prize money of Rs 1,6 million (16 lakhs).

East Bengal: Dibyendu Sarkar – Samad Ali Mallick, Arspreet Singh, Kaushik Sarkar, Deepak – Prohlad Roy, Yami Longvah, Do Dong Hyun, Prakash Sarkar – Somide Adelaja, Jiten Murmu [C]

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

David Lalhlansanga: The I-League star hopes to emit light in Blue Tigers’ galaxy!

David Lalhlansanga is the newest face in the Indian senior men’s national camp. Out of …