Eight teams for CECAFA Women’s Championship 2022!

Eight teams have confirmed participation in the regional CECAFA Women’s Championship.

Uganda will host the Championship at the FUFA technical centre in Njeru between May 22 and June 5.

Yussuf Mossi, the CECAFA Competitions Director confirmed that eight teams have confirmed participation in the tournament which will also be the first on the CECAFA calendar for 2022.

“We have received confirmation from eight teams that beat the registration deadline last week. We are now planning to have the draw in a few days,” revealed Mossi.

Kenya who beat the Kilimanjaro Queens of Tanzania 2-0 in the final in 2019 when the tournament was last held will not defend their title. Kenya is among the members suspended by FIFA.

“We are confident that this tournament will be very competitive and will also give our two representatives in the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Burundi and Uganda to prepare well and get more match practice,” explained Mossi.

During an interview CECAFA President, Wallace Karia also made it clear that as a regional body they have planned well the tournaments for the 2022 season.

“We have decided to start with a women’s tournament since the Women’s AFCON will also take place in Morocco in July,” added Karia.

The national teams that will take part in the CECAFA Women’s Championship 2022 include hosts Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Rwanda and Zanzibar.

About Press Release

Check Also

CAF plays pivotal role in UNOCT Scientific Symposium in Riyadh!

Over the last few months, CAF’s Safety and Security Department has been particularly active with …