Sunday , February 25 2024

Kolkata Futsal League: Aryan Club first-ever champions!

Kolkata Futsal League - Aryan ClubTraditional Kolkata league side Aryan Club defeated Southern Samity 6-2 to lift the title of the first-ever Kolkata Futsal League on Saturday, July 16 evening at the Jagriti Sangha Ground in Garia, Kolkata.

The tournament wasn’t the best for the big Kolkata clubs as Mohun Bagan had opted against participating in it before it started, while East Bengal Club and Mohammedan Sporting Club exiting in round one itself.

But Aryan Club was the best side in the competition with a 5-2 quarterfinal win over East Bengal, a 4-1 semifinal win over George Telegraph and now in the final a 6-2 over Southern Samity.

Meanwhile in the women’s final, Bally Gramanchal defeated Taltala Dipti Sangha 2-0 to lift the title.

Though the organisers termed the tournament as the Kolkata Futsal League, it was rather an outdoor 5-a-side tournament, then in reality futsal is normally played indoors with rules which are different than in football!


08-Jul-2016: Mohammedan Sporting Club 3-5 Southern Samity
09-Jul-2016: East Bengal Club 2-5 Aryan Club
10-Jul-2016: United SC 4-4 George Telegraph SC
= George Telegraph win via toss of coin!
11-Jul-2016: Bhowanipore FC 6-6 Peerless SC
= Peerless win via toss of coin!

13-Jul-2016: Southern Samity 4-3 Peerless SC
14-Jul-2016: Aryan Club 4-1 George Telegraph SC

16-Jul-2016: Aryan Club 6-2 Southern Samity

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

AIFF Futsal Committee meets to decide on club championship!

The All India Football Federation’s Futsal Committee Meeting, which was conducted online, was chaired by …