Tuesday , May 28 2024

Mohammedan Sporting & Sudeva Delhi FC to get 2020/21 I-League underway on January 9!

I-League debutants Sudeva Delhi FC and promoted Mohammedan Sporting Club are all set to get the 2020-21 season of the I-League underway at the Saltlake Stadium, Kolkata on Saturday, January 9, 2021.

The I-League will be played at three venues this season — the Saltlake Stadium, the Kalyani Municipal Stadium, and the Kishore Bharati Stadium.

The opening day of the I-League will feature the clash between Sudeva Delhi FC and Mohammedan Sporting Club which will kick-off at 2pm IST, while the match will be followed by successive kick-offs at 4pm IST (RoundGlass Punjab FC vs Aizawl FC) and 7pm IST (Gokulam Kerala FC vs Chennai City FC). Both these games are being held at the Kalyani Municipal Stadium.

The fixtures for the first 10 rounds have been released, with the schedule for the next stage to be released at a later stage.

The matches will be broadcast live on 1Sports and streamed live on social media/OTT.

Due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic, the I-League will be played in Kolkata and the neighbouring town of Kalyani this season. All the teams’ players and officials, along with the referees and other officials from the local organising committee will be operating from within the safety of a bio-secure bubble.

“We are about to experience a new version of the I-League this time as all the teams will be operating from within the bubble,” said AIFF Leagues CEO Sunando Dhar. “It will indeed be a unique experience for all the players, coaches and officials involved.”

“Of course, we would have loved to have had fans in the stands, but due to the current circumstances, that would not be possible. I just want to convey to all the fans that we will all be there for each other in spirit. I wish all the teams the best ahead of the tournament,” he stated.

About Press Release

Check Also

Minerva Academy FC emerge AIFF U-13 Youth League 2023-24 champions!

Minerva Academy FC staged a stunning second-half comeback to bag the AIFF Sub-Junior League 2023-24 …