Mumbai to host WIFA Women’s Championship from June 23 onwards!

The Western India Football Association (Maharashtra) are set to organise the WIFA Women’s Championship as part of the FIFA-AIFF State Development Project with two clubs each from Mumbai, Pune, Kolhapur and Nagpur taking part.

The tournament will be played at Mumbai’s Cooperage Stadium from June 23 onwards with the final slated for July 8.

Mumbai will be represented by former Mumbai District FA champions Bodyline SC and Aadhar Pratishtan, while the teams from Pune include ISL franchise Pune City FC and United Pooja SA. KSA Women’s FC and Poddar International are the teams participating from Kolhapur, while Tulip FC and Pirpude FC are representing Nagpur in the tournament.

The teams have been divided into two groups of four teams each and will initially play against each other on a round-robin league basis. The two top teams from each group will qualify for the semifinals to be played on July 7.

WIFA will also conduct the FIFA ‘Live Your Goals’ Women’s Grassroots Leaders Course from July 6-8 to coincide with the WIFA Women’s Football Championship finals.

WIFA Women’s Championship – Groupings

Group A: Bodyline SC, United Poona SA, Poddar International, Tulip FC

Group B: Pune City FC, KSA Women’s FC, Aadhar Prathisthan, Tirpude FC

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Etihad Airways fly Manchester City community coaches to India for Etihad Young Leaders Summit!

Twenty-seven Young Leaders from the project network in Bangalore, New Delhi, and Kolkata joined together …