Wednesday , February 21 2024

Nicaragua named host for 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship!

CONCACAF has announced that Nicaragua will host the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship. The Confederation’s qualifying competition for the FIFA Futsal World Cup will take place between April 13-20, 2024, at Polideportivo Alexis Arguello in Managua, Nicaragua.

The tournament will begin with a Group Stage consisting of three groups of four teams each. After Round-Robin play, the group winners, runners-up, and the two best place third place finishers will advance to the Knockout Stage.

The eight-team Knockout Stage will commence with the Quarterfinals, followed by the Semifinals, Third-Place Match, and Final. At the conclusion of the event, the top four finishers (semifinalists) will qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup Uzbekistan 2024.

The 12 CONCACAF Member Associations participating in the competition are (in alphabetical order): Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Haiti, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and the United States.

The official draw for the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship is scheduled for December 14, 2023, at the CONCACAF Headquarters in Miami, FL. In this made-for-tv event, teams will be divided into three groups of four. Fans can follow all the action starting at 11:00 am ET on and the Confederation’s social media platforms.

For the draw, the 12 participating teams have been split into pots based on the CONCACAF Futsal Rankings. The draw pots are as follows:

  • Pot 1 (highest-ranked teams): Costa Rica, Guatemala, and Panama.
  • Pot 2 (next three highest-ranked teams): United States, Cuba, and Mexico
  • Pot 3 (next three highest-ranked teams): Canada, Trinidad and Tobago, and Suriname
  • Pot 4 (three lowest-ranked teams): Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, and Haiti

Teams will be placed into Groups A, B, and C according to the order they are drawn, with no more than one team from each pot per group.

The competition’s complete match schedule will be announced after the official draw.

In the previous edition of the CONCACAF Futsal Championship, played in Guatemala in 2021, Costa Rica won its fourth title after defeating the United States 3-2 in the final. In the third-place match, Guatemala topped Panama 3-2 in extra time. These four nations represented the Confederation in the FIFA Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2021.

About Press Release

Check Also

adidas & Austin FC unveil 2024 The Armadillo Kit!

Austin FC have unveiled their new secondary jersey for the 2024 MLS season, The Armadillo …