Wednesday , October 5 2022

Nigeria’s Bayelsa Queens clinch WAFU-B title & qualify for CAF Women’s Champions League!

Bayelsa Queens of Nigeria have qualified for the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League 2022 in Morocco.

They defeated Ghana’s Ampem Darkoa Ladies 3-0 in the final this weekend to win WAFU B Qualifiers’ tournament at the Yamoussoukro Stadium in Côte d’Ivoire.

Miracle Joseph, Flourish Sabatine Choma and Chinyere Igbomalu each found the net to seal the 3-0 win over Ghanaians.

Bayelsa Queens succeed to Ghana’s Hasaacas Ladies who won the title last year by defeating Rivers Angels of Nigeria 3 -1, before ending Runners up of the inaugural edition of the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League.

TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League 2022 will be played from October 31 to November 13, 2022 in Morocco.

Eight teams will take part in the final tournament. In addition to Bayelsa Queens (Nigeria, WAFU B), six other teams are already qualified for the finals, including:

  • ASFAR (Morocco): Host Club
  • Wadi Degla FC (Egypt): UNAF
  • Green Buffaloes (Zambia): COSAFA
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa): COSAFA
  • Determine Girls FC (Liberia): WAFU A
  • Simba Queens FC (Tanzania): CECAFA
  • Bayelsa Queens (Nigeria): WAFU B

For the last slot, UNIFFAC representative will be revealed after the conclusion of the zonal tournament set to take place from September 10 to 16, 2022 in Malabo.

The draw for the Central Zone qualifiers will be held on Tuesday, September 6 in Cairo, Egypt.

About Press Release

Check Also

Top African legends to attend African Nations Championship draw on Saturday night!

A star-studded list made up of former TotalEnergies African Nations Championship winners will be in …