Monday , May 20 2024

Subroto Mukherjee Cup organisers expose extensive age fraud!

The Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society (SMSES) has announced new fixtures for the Sub Junior (U-14) Boys tournament of the 62nd edition of the Subroto Cup Inter School International Football Tournament being played for the first time in the Garden City of Bengaluru.

The development was forced given 15 teams had to be unfortunately disqualified for fielding overage players in their squads. The new fixtures contain 22 teams divided into eight groups. All the matches which were played on Sunday, October 1, were also deemed null and void by the organisers.

A Skeletal Age Estimation Test was conducted on Sunday as per the regulations of the tournament and the criteria set by the All India Football Federation. The test was conducted at a hospital on Turnkur Road in Bengaluru by a doctor assigned by AIFF.

A total of 126 players were tested in which 87 players failed the test and 34 players cleared the test. The results of five players will be announced today.

A minimum of four players from each team were tested and the 15 teams disqualified had a minimum of four players found to be overage. SMSES this year has taken such an initiative under the aegis of the AIFF to curb age fraud in the best interests of a fair tournament.

The amended Subroto Mukherjee Cup pools are:


1. H.K Singh Memorial Secondary School, West Jaintia Hills, Jowai, Meghalaya
2. The Cathedral and John Connon School, Mumbai , Maharashtra
3. The Assam Valley School, Sonitpur, Assam (IPSC)*


1. Chawngfianga Middle School, Saiden, Kulasib, Mizoram
2. Army Public School, Delhi Cantt, New Delhi


1. Manikpara High School, Jhargram, West Bengal
2. Navarachana Higher Secondary School, Vadodara , Gujarat
3. Navy Children School, Kochi, Kerala


1. Tashi Namgyal Academy , Gangtok, Sikkim
2. Don Bosco H.S.S, Perambur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
3. Army Public School, Bhuj, Gujarat


1. N.N.M.H .S.S Chelembra, Malappuram, Kerala
2. Mother ‘s Pride Public School, Maloti, Himachal Pradesh
3. Oberoi International School, Mumbai, Maharashtra


1. Minerva Public School, Kochi, Kerala
2. Major Dhyanchand Sports College, Sefai, Etawa, Uttar Pradesh


1. Strawbeny Fields High School, Seetor 26, Chandigarh
2. The Air Force School, Subroto Park, Delhi
3. Primary Marathi School, Silvassa, D&D & DNH


1. Barnpatner Bengenabari H.S.S, Sibsagar, Assam
2. Loyola High School, Margoa, Goa
3. Maharana Pratap Sports College, Dehradun, Uttarakhand

*Subject to results of skeletal age test

According to the new fixtures, the group matches will be played from October 2-4 at the Air Force School, Jalahalli, Air Force School, Yelahanka and Air Force Headquarters Training Command.

The winners of each group will play the quarterfinals which will be played on October 6 and the semifinals will be played on October 8. The finals of the tournament will be played on October 10. All the knockout matches will be played at the Army Service Corps (ASC) Centre.

The 62nd Subroto Cup will be telecast LIVE on the SportsCast India YouTube channel. You can also catch the Highlights on the Prasar Bharti & AIFF YouTube channels.

About Press Release

Check Also

Guwahati City FC celebrates AFC Grassroots Day!

Guwahati City FC observed AFC Grassroots Day with a series of events aimed at promoting …