Saturday , March 25 2023

United States name Under-17 squad for AIFF Youth Cup!

Aiff Youth Cup 2016The United States Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach John Hackworth has named a 23-player roster for the AIFF Youth Cup in Goa, India, set to take place from May 15-25.

The U.S. will face Tanzania on May 15, host India on May 19, South Korea on May 21, and Malaysia on May 23. The third place match and the final will be played on May 25.

The USA is coming off a pair of friendlies victories against Canada in Florida last month, defeating their northern neighbours 3-1 in both matches. This will be the third tournament of the year for the U.S. U-17s after they won the 44th Mondial Football de Montaigu Tournament in March and placed second in the 2016 Aegean Cup in January.

Organized by the All India Football Federation, this is the first edition of the AIFF Youth Cup, preparing players and organizers for the 2016 AFC Under-16 Championships and the 2017 FIFA Under-17 World Cup that will be held in India next year.


Alexander Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Justin Garces (Kendall FC; Miami, Fla.), Quantrell Jones (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.)

Jake Arteaga (LA Galaxy; Glendora, Calif.), Jean-Julian Foe Nuphaus (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), Rayshaun McGann (Philadelphia Union; Royal Palm Beach, Fla.), Tyler Shaver (Beachside Soccer Club; Riverside, Conn.), AJ Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Chandler Vaughn (D.C. United; Hood River, Ore.)

George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Georgia United; Locust Grove, Ga.), James Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ontario), Andrew Carleton (Georgia United; Powder Springs, Ga.), Niccolo Lemoine (De Anza Force; Livermore, Calif.), Kevin Negrete (LA Galaxy; Hawthorne, Calif.), Will Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

AIFF TV: India’s Anirudh Thapa thanks the fans!

India goalscorer Anirudh Thapa spoke to AIFF Social Media about the support from the fans …