Tuesday , December 7 2021

Updated groups & calendar announced for CONCACAF Women’s U-17 Championship Qualifying!

CONCACAF has announced changes to the groups and schedule of the region’s qualifiers 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship will now take place from October 20 to November 1, 2021 at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida in the United States.

Following the withdrawal of a number of teams due to Covid-19 travel restrictions, which resulted in an uneven number of teams per group, Concacaf has made the decision to reformat the tournament’s group stage to two groups of three teams and one group of four teams.

The new groups are as follows:

Group A: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Dominica, US Virgin Islands, and Suriname

Group B: Barbados, Curaçao, and Belize

Group C: Honduras, Anguilla, Guyana, and Turks and Caicos Islands

At the end of group stage play, the winner of each group and the best ranked second place finisher will advance to the 2022 CONCACAF Women’s U-17 Championship (CWU17).

The ranking of the best second-place team will be determined using a weighted points system (total number of points divided by the number of matches played).

The 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship is scheduled to take place in January. The top ranked 16 teams participating in the Group Stage of the Championship will be divided into four groups. After round-robin play, the top three teams in each group will advance to the Round of 16, joining the four teams from the Qualifiers.

The winner, runner-up, and third place of the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship will qualify for the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup is scheduled to be played in India between October 11-30, 2022.

About Press Release

Check Also

India Women lose lead and match against Venezuela!

India put in a hard-fought performance but ended up with a 1-2 loss against Venezuela …