Friday , April 19 2024

Vanuatu & Papua New Guinea to play in FIFA Series pilot project!

Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea have been invited to play in the new FIFA Series pilot project this March. The initiative provides for a series of inter-confederation friendlies, to be played in a single host nation during international windows.

This will provide nations with more regular opportunities to play international matches against sides outside of their confederation, with a view to increasing development opportunities previously unavailable.

Ahead of the full roll-out in March 2026, the pilot project will run from March 18 to 26, 2024. The forthcoming edition of the FIFA Series will feature national teams from all six confederations, and future instalments are planned during every March international match window of even years.

“The FIFA Series is a really positive step forward for national-team football at global level,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“Our member associations have been telling us for a long time now of their desire to test themselves against their counterparts from all around the world, and now they can do so within the current Men’s International Match Calendar. More meaningful matches will enable far more valuable footballing interaction for players, teams and fans, and will make a concrete contribution to the development of the game.”

Vanuatu, ranked 170 in the FIFA rankings, will compete in a series in Saudi Arabia with Bermuda (171, CONCACAF), Brunei Darussalam (194, AFC) and Guinea (76, CAF).

Papua New Guinea, ranked 165, will play in a series with hosts Sri Lanka (204, AFC) , Bhutan (184, AFC) and Central African Republic (129, CAF)

The FIFA Series pilot phase in March 2024 will involve the following teams:

FIFA Series: Algeria
Algeria (CAF)
Andorra (UEFA)
Bolivia (CONMEBOL)
South Africa (CAF)

FIFA Series: Azerbaijan
Azerbaijan (UEFA)
Bulgaria (UEFA)
Mongolia (AFC)
Tanzania (CAF)

FIFA Series: Saudi Arabia A
Cabo Verde (CAF)
Cambodia (AFC)
Equatorial Guinea(CAF)

FIFA Series: Saudi Arabia B
Bermuda (CONCACAF)
Brunei Darussalam (AFC)
Guinea (CAF)
Vanuatu (OFC)

FIFA Series: Sri Lanka
Bhutan (AFC)
Central African Republic (CAF)
Papua New Guinea (OFC)
Sri Lanka (AFC)

About Press Release

Check Also

Anticipation builds for OFC U-16 Men’s Championship 2024 qualifiers!

Teufaiva Stadium is all set to host it’s third and final tournament of the year, …