Tuesday , August 16 2022

XtraTime VIDEO: Shyam Thapa to receive the Mohun Bagan Ratna!

Mohun Bagan Athletic Club at their latest working committee meeting at the club tent on Thursday, July 7 decided amongst other things on the award winners for Mohun Bagan Day 2022.

Former India forward Shyam Thapa was chosen as the Mohun Bagan Ratna, the club’s highest honour, which he would receive on its annual celebration day ceremony on July 29. Shyam Thapa made his name for East Bengal Club before archrivals Mohun Bagan signed him in 1977 for a record sum of Rs 50,000. The Mariners in that season won triple of IFA Shield, Rovers Cup and Durand Cup.

Shyam Thapa spend seven seasons at Mohun Bagan, even captaining them in 1982.

“I am honoured. I have no hesitation in admitting that I waited for the ‘Mohun Bagan Ratna’. I am very happy,” the 74-year-old Shyam Thapa said.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Mohun Bagan Ratna ceremony was held virtually over last two years but this year it will return to celebrate the club.

The Mohun Bagan working committee also picked talented youngster Kiyan Nassiri as the ‘Best Forward’, while Liston Colaco was adjudged the Best Footballer. Former goalkeeper Balai Dey will be conferred with the Lifetime Achievement award.


  • Best Athlete: Bapi Sekh
  • Best Forward: Kiyan Nassiri
  • Best Sports Journalist: Ashok Dasgupta
  • Best Sports Official: V.C. Praveen (Gokulam Kerala FC)
  • Best Cricketer: Prinann Dutta
  • Best Footballer: Liston Colaco
  • Lifetime Achievement: Balai Dey
  • Mohun Bagan Ratna: Shyam Thapa

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Hyderabad FC name 27-man squad for Durand Cup!

Hyderabad FC have named their 27-man squad that will travel to Imphal for the 131st …