Friday , December 1 2023

2016 PFA Awards winners awarded in London last night!

PFA logoThe 43rd edition of the Professional Footballers’ Association organised PFA Awards was held at the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday, April 24.

PFA Members from 100 clubs voted amongst the shortlisted nominees to decide the winners across the different categories.

PFA Men’s Players’ Player of the Year, Riyad Mahrez was on a six-man shortlist including Leicester City FC teammates Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante for the vote of their fellow professionals in English football.

“I’m very grateful to receive this award,” Mahrez said. “It’s extra special because if the players vote for me, it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year, so I’m happy. But it’s more team things. Without my teammates I wouldn’t get this award.”

The 25-year-old Mahrez is only the second winner of the PFA award from outside England. Uruguay striker Luis Suarez won it in 2014 while playing for Liverpool FC.
The following are the winners in the different categories

– PFA Men’s Players’ Player of the Year: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City FC)

– PFA Men’s Young Player of the Year: Bamidele Jermaine ‘Dele’ Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)

– PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Isobel Mary ‘Izzy’ Christiansen (Manchester City WFC)

– PFA Women’s Young Player of the Year: Bethany Jane ‘Beth’ Mead (AFC Sunderland)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Tottenham Hotspur partners Kickstart FC in India!

Tottenham Hotspur’s Global Football Development team have announced a new partnership with Kickstart FC to …