Wednesday , October 4 2023

2023/24 DFB German Cup: Round 1 draw throws-up exciting encounters!

The draw for the first round of the DFB German Cup (DFB Pokal) 2023/24 was held this afternoon with the draw carried out by pole vaulter Sarah Vogel and DFB president Bernd Neuendorf overlooking the draw.

Newly-promoted third-tier side SC Preußen Münster can look forward to a meeting with record champions FC Bayern München.

“I think the team and our coach will be celebrating,” said press officer Marcel Weskamp, before recalling that the two sides had previously met in the competition in 2014. Back then, Bayern advanced to the next round with a 4-1 win.

Defending champions RB Leipzig will face a tough opponent in the first round in the form of newly-promoted second division side SV Wehen Wiesbaden. Local rivals Lok Leipzig will host last season’s cup finalists Eintracht Frankfurt, while Borussia Dortmund will travel to fourth-tier TSV Schott Mainz.

Each of the seven fifth-tier sides to have qualified for the competition can look forward to exciting first-round matches. SV Oberachern have been drawn against neighbours and UEFA Europa League participants SC Freiburg, while SV Atlas Delmenhorst will host nearby FC St. Pauli and 1.FC Kaiserslautern travel to FC Rot-Weiß Koblenz.

TuS Makkabi Berlin, the first Jewish club to qualify for the DFB-Pokal, will host VfL Wolfsburg in their debut cup campaign. Fellow debutants TSG Balingen, who have been drawn against VfB Stuttgart.

The first round of matches will take place on the weekend of August 11 to 14, with the exception of those involving Supercup participants FC Bayern and RB Leipzig, who will play their first-round matches on September 26/27.

2023/24 DFB POKAL – Round 1

FC 08 Homburg – SV Darmstadt 98
Hallescher FC – SpVgg Greuther Fürth
SV Sandhausen – Hannover 96
VfL Osnabrück -1. FC Köln

Atlas Delmenhorst – FC St. Pauli
FV Illertissen – Fortuna Düsseldorf
Makkabi Berlin – VfL Wolfsburg
RW Koblenz – 1.FC Kaiserslautern

SpVgg Unterhaching – FC Augsburg
Rostocker FC – 1.FC Heidenheim
Preußen Münster – FC Bayern München
Jahn Regensburg – 1.FC Magdeburg

Energie Cottbus – SC Paderborn
FC Oberneuland – 1.FC Nürnberg
VfB Lübeck – TSG Hoffenheim
TSG Balingen – VfB Stuttgart

Schott Mainz Borussia Dortmund
Rot-Weiss Essen – Hamburger SV
SV Elversberg – 1.FSV Mainz 05
Lok Leipzig – Eintracht Frankfurt

FC-Astoria Walldorf – 1.FC Union Berlin
Viktoria Köln – Werder Bremen
FSV Frankfurt – Hansa Rostock
SV Wehen Wiesbaden – RB Leipzig

Teutonia Ottensen – Bayer 04 Leverkusen
Carl Zeiss Jena – Hertha BSC
1. FC Saarbrücken – Karlsruher SC
FC Gütersloh – Holstein Kiel

SV Oberachern – SC Freiburg
TuS Bersenbrück – Borussia Mönchengladbach
Arminia Bielefeld – VfL Bochum
Eintracht Braunschweig – FC Schalke 04

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Bayer Leverkusen extend Exequiel Palacios contract until 2028!

Bayer 04 Leverkusen have agreed to extend the contract with Argentinian FIFA World Cup winner …